School democracy at Knockloughrim PS

Have your say

Democracy was in action last week throughout Knockloughrim Primary School when children stood for election, canvassed their peers and earned votes to represent respective year groups on the pupils school council.

The following children have been elected; Chairperson – Jacob Bell; Vice chairperson – Naomi McLean; Treasurer – Molly Spillane; Secretary – Rosanna Fullerton; Vice -Secretary – Sara Henderson; Year Reps - 1, Ryan McKinley; 2, Ella Bell; 3, Linton Donaghy; 4, Alisha McCombe; 5, Lois Fulton; 6, Aimee Clarke; 7, Molly Beattie.

Meanwhile, p2, 3 and 4 pupils turned their classrooms into wards for the Teddy Bears Hospital. Here, Dr Garth Fulton was welcomed when he helped them understand more about their bodies and how doctors try and make people better. And, the PTA have kicked off the new school year with plans for the annual Curran Duck race. This will be held tomorrow evening (Thursday). Tickets have been sent home and it is hoped that many will sponsor a little rubber duck or two!