St Mary’s seal Ulster Camogie title

St Mary’s Magherafelt 0-9 Cross & Passion Ballycastle 1-3

ST Mary’s Magherafelt collected Corn Eimhear for the 13th time in Quinn Park Ballymena on Saturday, coming from behind with six second-half points to overturn Ballycastle’s 3 points interval advantage.

They dominated the game in terms of possession, but Cross & Passion’s defence was outstanding and they broke with pace and accuracy to snatch first half scores that tested the Convent’s resolve.

However, Róisín Cassidy, Kirsty McLeod, Eimear McGuigan and Aine Murphy pushed their team forward in the second half to force match-winning scores.

Erin Elliott and the Ballycastle defence were excellent throughout, with Niamh O’Neill working very hard around the middle. However, the Convent’s back line also stood strong and denied them openings to get anything out of a superb final.

Roisin Cassidy fired over two superb long-range frees in the opening 10 minutes, but Caitrin Dobbin’s delivery broke kindly for Tara O’Neill to thump home a goal a minute later.

Ballycastle grew in confidence with that score and added points from O’Neill, Dobbin and Johanna McKeown to lead by 1-3 to 0-3 at the turnover.

Two early frees from Roisin Cassidy closed the gap to a single point, but Ballycastle held firm. Significantly however, they couldn’t tag on scores from their breaks as they had done earlier.

Eventually sub Aine Conway grabbed the equaliser and almost immediately Aine Murphy put them in the lead. Murphy and Eimear McGuigan then completed the scoring, making the game safe for Magherafelt

St Mary’s : Una McKeown, Eimear O’Kane, Meaghan Diamond capt, Hannah Doherty, Rebecca Bradley, Roisin Cassidy 0-5 frees, Aine Mulholland, Kirsty McLeod, Ciara McAuley, Una McCoy, Eimear McGuigan 0-1, Emma Robinson, Katie McQuillan, Shauna McCusker, Aine Murphy 0-2.

Subs : Aine Conway 0-1 for E Robinson, Faoiltiarna Burke for U McCoy.

Cross & Passion : Allysha McGarry, Bronagh Johnson, Bronagh McCaughan capt, Siobhan Donnelly, Erin Elliott, Sarah McCloskey, Erin McBride, Katai McKillop, Tara O’Neill 1-1, Johanna McKeown 0-1, Caitrin Dobbin 0-1, Niamh O’Neill, Eimear Donnelly, Brónagh Clarke, Annie Laverty.

Subs : Clare McKillop for E Donnelly.

Referee : Colm Cunning (Dunloy)