Cookstown director shortlisted for prestigious award

Cookstown director Brendan McGurgan who has been shortlisted for a prestigious award.
Cookstown director Brendan McGurgan who has been shortlisted for a prestigious award.

A COOKSTOWN businessman has been shortlisted for the finals of the Institute of Directors’ prestigious national Director of the Year Awards.

Brendan McGurgan, of CDE Global, has made it to the national finals in the Global Director of the Year category, after winning the title in the Northern Ireland Awards for 2011-12, sponsored by Abbey Bond Lovis.

He was then nominated for the national awards by IoD Northern Ireland.

CDE Global manufactures equipment for the quarrying and mining industry.

Brendan joins four other Northern Irish IoD directors who have made the national finals.

Michelle Hatfield of George Best Belfast City Airport has made the shortlist as Young Director of the Year, while Michael Howard of food and drinks company SHS Group is in the Large Company Director of the Year category.

Simon Hunter of Hunter Apparel has made the shortlist in the Family Business category, as has Seamus O’Prey of social enterprise Ortus in the Third Sector Director of the Year category.

IoD Northern Ireland Chairman Mervyn McCall congratulated the local leaders.

He said: “I am delighted that all five of our winners have made the national shortlist. It proves that Northern Ireland continues to produce business men and women of the highest calibre. I wish them all the very best in the national finals on 5 October in London.”

Entries for the IoD Northern Ireland Director of the Year Awards 2012-2013 are now open. Applicants are invited to enter across eight categories, with non-executive directors being recognised in a new category.

The Awards, which take place on 30 November, are open to all business leaders in Northern Ireland, whether they are IoD members or not.

Criteria for all the awards can be viewed at

Application forms can be downloaded from or by contacting Linda Brown, 028 9068 3224. Applications close on 30 September 2012.