Community planning pilots are welcomed

editorial image

MAGHERAFELT Sinn Féin Councillor Seán McPeake has welcomed the decision of Magherafelt District Council to create 3 Community Planning pilot schemes within the council area.

These initial pilot plans will see more improved joined up working between organisations and local communities in order to devise and deliver services within the district.

Initially the three pilot areas chosen are a) Magherafelt Town area including Castledawson and Desertmartin, b) Ballinscreen area including Sixtowns, Straw and Moneyneaney and b) Maghera Town and area including Gulladuff, Tamlaght, Culnady, Tobermore and Upperlands.

Commenting on the proposals Councillor McPeake said: “The purpose of these pilots will be to begin the process of engaging with locals in developing an action plan for their area. Aims of the pilots will be to improve the quality of life within the district through the development of partnership working whilst reducing duplication and to improve delivery of existing programmes.

“This will also assist in empowering local communities to create local solutions to local problems and to take ownership of their local areas. Those sectors having an input will include Council, Community and Voluntary sector, Statutory agencies and businesses.

“I am confident that these initial pilot opportunities will positively assist both the areas chosen, and indeed the council as a whole to prepare for the out-workings of Community Planning when it becomes a statutory function of councils under the Review of public Administration.”