Draperstown pharmacy scoops independent award at ceremony

editorial image

The sector’s finest were out in force as the 2017 Northern Ireland Healthcare Awards hosted by Medical Communications Ltd got underway and a local chemist was honoured to received one of the awards.

Sharon Diamond and O’Kanes Pharmacy Draperstown were named as Pharmacy Practice of the Year Independent at the recent ceremony,

O’Kanes Pharmacy continues to strive to deliver the highest level of healthcare within the community, always working to promote health and wellbeing at various levels; from local groups, such as STEPS (a suicide awareness organisation) and youth clubs, to women’s groups and local community festivals.

During 2016, the pharmacy increased the number of pharmacists in the team, leading to them being better resourced to deliver the elected services of Medicines Management, MURs, smoking cessation, and minor ailments.

Staff have also been heavily involved with a Building the Community-Pharmacy Partnership (BCPP) project.

‘Exceptional’ - was the reaction from the judges regarding all applicants into this category.

O’Kanes Pharmacy in Draperstown was singled out as an outstanding example of what a community pharmacy can achieve with adequate resources and committed staff.

Their range of activities is, to say the least, impressive, and engages patients and customers, both in the pharmacy and in the wider community.

The amount of interaction and communication with the local GP surgeries is to a level that many pharmacists could only dream of.

Now in its 18th year, the annual event is dedicated to celebrating those whose exceptional expertise and contribution to their profession have transformed the provision of healthcare for the better.

This year the 300-strong crowd gathered in Belfast within the elegant setting of the Europa Hotel.