Moneymore ladies hold their WI AGM

editorial image

The ladies of Moneymore WI reconvened after the summer break, feeling refreshed and eager to begin the new session.

The meeting was chaired by Beth Irwin, Federation Vice- Chairperson, who conducted the AGM. She was ably assisted by Mrs Shepherd and Mrs Fleming, who acted as tellers for the evening. After all positions were declared vacant, voting for the new committee took place with the following people being elected: Helen Andrews, Eleanor Boyce, Iris Coburn, Marian Forsythe, Hilary Lawrence, June Lawrence, Wendy McAdoo and Sylvia Orr. Iris Coburn was then elected as Institute President and Rosamund O’Reilly was returned as International Officer.

Awards were then presented, with Ann McKeown receiving the President’s Trophy and Helen Andrews was first in the monthly competitions, with Wendy McAdoo second.

After all business was completed Linda Brown conducted an auction of items contributed by members, including tasty homemade chutney and jam. There was also a display of photographs which had been taken at Lissan House during the summer outing and everyone enjoyed reminiscing about a memorable evening.

Everyone then enjoyed a wonderful supper and a time to catch up with old friends. The evening concluded with A Countrywoman’s Song, accompanied by Alison Hunter on piano.