Bellaghy reach All-Ireland Sevens final

BELLAGHY did extremely ell to reach the final of the All Ireland Seven a side competition organised by Kilmacud Crokes in South Dublin on Saturday.

Tuesday, 21st September 2010, 10:59 am
Updated Wednesday, 22nd September 2010, 12:01 pm

Former winners Bellaghy lost in the final to All Ireland club champions St. Gall’s of Belfast the holders who were winning the competition for a record fourth team. Amazingly it was the twelfth successive year that an Ulster team has won this very popular All Ireland week end tournament.

St. Gall’s came through a group which included Derry champions Loup but in the final it took two late goals to see off Bellaghy who were in front at half time.

St. Gall’s eventually won by 3-9 to 2-5 but all credit to Bellaghy for reaching the final.

St. Gall’s scorers Kevin and CJ McGourty 1-3 each, Anto Healey 1-2, Karl Stewrat, Aidan Gallagher 0-1 each.

Bellaghy scorers Eoghan Brown 1-5 and Gareth Doherty 1-0.

St. Gall’s: Kevin McGourty, CJ McGourty, Colin Brady, Anto Healy, Terry O’Neill, Karl Stewart, Ronan Gallagher, Sean Burke, Aidan Gallagher and Brendan Martin.

Bellaghy: Gareth Doherty, Colin Murray, Ryan McNally, Kevin Doherty, Fergal Doherty, Joe Diver, Danny Larkin, Eoghan Brown and Shay Quinn.