CYCLING: Christie crowned Ulster Road Racing champion

Londonderry cyclist Marcus Christie continued his winning streak at the weekend when he lead home a strong field at Sunday's Ulster Road Race Cycling Championship held in Eglinton.

Monday, 5th September 2016, 2:18 pm
Updated Monday, 5th September 2016, 3:21 pm
Simon Gill, Chairman Foyle Cycling (extreme left) with podium places in A1 race (from left) James Curry, Banbridge CC, Marcus Christie, Asea Wheelworx and Lindsay Watson, Plush CC.

Over 200 riders competed across all categories on what was a challenging course, riding three circuits from Eglinton out to Claudy, and then along the Baranailt Road dropping into Ballykelly before climbing back into Eglinton on the deceptively challenging Killylane Road.

Although challenged for much of the ride by Lindsay Watson (North Down) and James Curry (PLUSH Cycling), Christie showed his strength and experience by pulling away on the final lap. At the finish, he had over one minute to spare on the chasing peloton.

Simon Gill, Foyle Cycling Club chairman, was delighted with the day’s racing.

“This was a fantastic day for the club and one of the biggest racing events staged in Derry over the last three years,” explained Mr Gill, “The strength of the field shows great promise for cycling in Ireland in the coming years.

“The circuit from Eglinton is a great route and the event was only made possible with the support our club volunteers and that of the local community centre and the people of Eglinton, who came out to encourage the riders on the day.”

The next major event in the calendar is the Ladies Only Sportive which will be held on Sunday, September 11th. Commencing in the Foyle Hospice in Derry, entry fees will be donated to the Hospice. For more information go to

Ulster Road Championship results

A1/A2 Race

1, Marcus CHRISTIE (Asea Wheelworx)

2, Lindsay WATSON (PLUSHmtb)

3, James CURRY (Banbridge CC)

4, Johnny TAYLOR (Carn Wheelers)

5, David HAMILTON (North Down CC)

6, John BULLER (Banbridge CC)

7. Cameron MCINTYRE (NRPT)

8, Christopher BIRNEY (Team Sportactive Racing)

9, Conor MCCANN (Asea Wheelworx)

10, Darnell MOORE (Caldwell Cycles Omagh)

Top3 A3

1, Mark JOHNSTON (Bann Wheelers CC)

2, Andrew MCCULLOUGH (Killinchy Cycling Club)

3, Ryan JAMISON (Causeway CC)

Top 3 Junior

1, John BULLER (Banbridge CC)

2, Cameron MCINTYRE (NRPT)

3, Conor MCCANN (Asea Wheelworx)