Coagh courageous in cup defeat

Coagh United Reserves and Loughgall Reserves contested the Wilmor Johnston Cup at Armagh City Grounds on Friday night.

Coagh went into the tie as holders from last year with Loughgall looking to get their hands on the trophy for the first time.

The game started at a brisk pace with Coagh pushing Loughgall back early on. Coagh’s captain Timmy Graham was finding loads of space down the right but both Veteran Creighton and Stephen Ramsey just failed to get the final touch to put Coagh ahead.

As the half progressed, Loughgall started to make raids into the Coagh back line, Daryl Flanagan and Stephen Glasgow looked in control but it took an outstanding save from Graham McKenzie to keep Coagh in the match.

Conor Trainor and Simon Foster linked for Herron to make the shot but the Coagh Keeper dived to make the one handed save. Adam Colbert and Mark Taylor worked hard as did Lee Hunter in the centre of the park.

Alexander Lees made a raid down the left, setting up Creighton but again the Loughgall defence responded and the chance was lost. Near the end of the half Coagh’s keeper came to their rescue again with a double save to keep the scores level at the break.

It was excellent for the large crowd watching as both sides pushed for the opener. End to end the ball went but neither side could get that final touch.

A double yellow for Justin Bradley and Loughgall were reduced to ten. Coagh pushed and pushed but just could not get that touch in the final third and as the game became red hot (without a bad tackle) Coagh were also reduced to ten after Lees made his way to the bath after his double booking.

Both sides should be applauded for end to end and entertaining football as the game moved into extra time.

In the first period Loughgall got the break through from a corner kick but Coagh pushed them all the way in the second period but just failed to get the final touch.

Coagh would like to congratulate Loughgall on their win and wish them well in their hunt for the double.

Coagh United: Graham McKenzie, Timmy Graham (c), Alexander Lees, Stephen Glasgow, Daryl Flanagan, Mark Taylor, Bill Lees, Lee Hunter, Andrew Creighton, Stephen Ramsey, Johnny Johnston, Simon Gates, Jordan Glasgow, Jamie Holmes.

Loughgall: Symon Ferguson, Corner Trainor, Mark O’Connor, Gavin Fox, Mark Irwin, Nicky Finally, Simon Smyth, Ricky Dobbs, Justin Bradley, Steven Herron, Simon Foster, Kyle Foster, Dean Morgan Joe McCourt, Alan Smyth Andy Weir.