Coagh in thrilling 2-2 draw

Armagh City 2 Coagh United 2

ARE the cracks starting to show in the Coagh armoury after they dropped another vital three points to a lively Armagh City last night. It took a second half come back to salvage a point but Coagh rode their luck and held onto the point after Armagh missed the three best chances of the match in the final minutes.

Coagh looked tired from the start and went behind after seven minutes. The home side broke from the middle of the park after a poor kick out by Yorke, after a quick one, two, Matthew Hynds unleashed from 20yards to score. On the rocks Coagh could not find any rhythm and were lucky not to go further behind to Marty Lavery but his header went a whisker over.

The home side punished Coagh slack marking on thirty minutes. a floating free kick into the Coagh area was headed home by Chris Maxwell to give the home side a good advantage at the break.

A revamped Coagh took the game on at the start of the second half and pulled one back straight away after Dallas turned in Thornton free kick. Coagh camped on the Armagh eighteen but had to wait to the eighty minute for the leveller. William Beckett and James Ferguson combined for Aaron Campbell to score of the post.

A thrilling last ten saw Scott, Campbell and Black all go close while at the other end Adam Nesbitt headed straight into Yorkes arms in front of an open goal. Johnny Yorke made amends for his earlier mistake with a top drawer save from Gavin Cusack.

In the final seconds Cusack and Nesbitt went two on one with Thornton but Thornton held his nerve and made the crucial tackle to salvage a point for Coagh. Now only two points ahead of Knockbreda, Coagh travel to Annagh on Saturday for a very difficult encounter. Kick off 3pm.

Armagh City: Sean Morgan, Dale Montgomery, Ryan McGerrigan, Ultan Lennon, Dara Noonan, Gavin Cusack Marty Lavery, Liam Cullen, Adam Nesbitt, Chris Maxwell Matthew Hynds, Barry Quinn, Sean Mallon, Garth Grimley Jamie Green.

Coagh United: Johnny Yorke, Scott McGeown, David Calderwood, Aaron Thornton, James Ferguson, Colin Donaldson, Marcus Dallas, William Beckett (Jason Gillespie), Johnny Black, Aaron Campbell, Dale Noble (Mark Scott), Lee Hunter, Stephen Glasgow.