Coagh Reserves battle to a draw

editorial image

Coagh Utd Res

Banbridge Town Res 2

COAGH reserves kicked off against Banbridge in their newly presented home strip, but things didn’t work out as planned.

In only their second league game of the season and in need of 3 points to keep themselves in contention with pace setters, it was the visitors who took the lead on 11mins.

A corner kick was only half cleared with the ball then being smashed past the helpless Graham McKenzie.

But the lead was short lived as Coagh got their reward only two mins later, Andrew Creighton flicking on in the box for Andy Neill to bring the teams level.

Coagh continued to apply the pressure against a youthful, well organised Banbridge side, and thought they had taken the lead on 36mins after a great cross into the box was volleyed goal ward by Ally McGuckin only to be blocked on the line by the keeper.

Coagh continued to try their luck with long range efforts from Creighton, Kempton and Taylor.

The 2nd half was much the same as the first with Coagh failing to turn possession into goal scoring chances, and with Coagh becoming more and more frustrated, against the run of play the visitors took the lead on 57mins.

A forward ball caused confusion between keeper McKenzie and J Glasgow leaving the Banbridge striker to tap into an empty goal.

Coagh made changes with Alex Lees replacing Jonny Johnson and Neil Smyth later replacing Kempton.

Coagh got back on level terms on 73mins; an Ally McGuckin corner was headed home by Neill for his and Coagh’s secpond.

Coagh pushed for the winner but with no joy as time ran out.

The result will be seen as two points dropped rather than a point gained as Coagh stutter to get their league campaign on track. Next Sat (20th) Coagh travel to League leaders Armagh City, who after 6 games have maximum points.

Would like to thank Coagh Youth for their generous offer of the new home strip presented today for the 2012/13 season.

Coagh res: Graham McKenzie, Timmy Graham, Stephen Ramsey, Jordan Glasgow, David Agnew, Mark Taylor, Ally McGuckin, Andy Neill, Jonny Johnson, Andrew Creighton, Matty Kempton, Alex Lees, Neil Smyth, Ian Glasgow