Derry GAA roundup

H&A Mechanical Division One

Greenlough 0-04

Loup 1-06

Loup continued their solid start to the season with comfortable five point win over Greenlough, a goal in the first half from Gavin Mallon helping them to a 1-03 to 0-02 interval lead. They have now five points from three games

With teenager Anthony O’Neill again on song in attack with three points Loup were good value for their win to be just one point off the top as they atation themselves just behind the leaders. Greenlough have yet to register a point.

The Greenlough scorers were Enda Lynn 0-02, 0-01 free, Cormac O’Neill free and Fintan Kelly 0-01 each

The Loup scorers were Gavan Mallon 1-00, Anthony O’Neill 0-03, Roddy O’Kane, Aidan McAlynn and Ciaran Devlin 0-01 each

Slaughtneil 5-11

Banagher 0-08

After their defeat by Magherfelt the previous week Slaughtneil bounced back in style to hammer a hapless Banagher by a massive eighteen points.

Mark Lynch kept Banagher in touch from frees but Micheal Kelly, lining out in the unusual position of full forward scored the first of his two goals to give the home team a 2-05 to 0-04 interval lead.

Banagher tried to play an expansive game but were left huge gaps at the back that were ruthlessly exploited by a rampant Slaughtneil, with Conan Cassidy coming up from wing back to score 1-01.

Midway through the half P.J. McCloskey picked up a straight red card but Banagher’s cause was already lost as they hit here second half goals to win handsomely.

The Slaughtneil scorers were Micheal Kelly 2-00, Jim Kelly 1-03, 0-01 free, Conan Cassidy 1-01, John Kelly 1-00, Paul Bradley 0-02, Chrissy McKaigue, Karl McKaigue, Gerald Bradley, Padrig Kelly, and Fergal McEldowney 0-01 each

The Banagher scorers were Mark Lynch 0-05 frees, Peter O’Kane, Gavan O’Neill and John Lynch 0-01 each

Ballinascreen 0-06

Magherafelt 1-09

Gary Coleman has turned his young Magherafelt team into a solid defensive unit that has seen them go from a struggling team last year to beating three of the top teams in the county this year.

Ballinascreen had first use of the strong wind in the first half but could only muster four points from Gary Conway, Kieran Conway and Benny Heron from two frees but still had a four point lead at the break as the Rossas failed to score a single point.

However the second half belonged to Magherafelt and particularly to Emmett McGuckin who scored 1-04 in an outstanding display, overcoming the effects of a heavy challenge to put the home side to the sword.

Chrissy Spiers opened the Rossas account from a free, Emmett McGuckin with a point and a goal putting Rossas in front. He added another point, with Phillip McCusker, Spiers from a free and Anton McElhone giving Magherafelt a 1-06 to 0-04 lead. Johnny McKee

And Benny Heron from a free halted the scoring onslaught but Rossas finished strongly with scores from McGuckin (2) and Fergal Duffin for their third successive win.

The Ballinascreen scorers were Benny Heron 0-03, Gary Conway, Johnny McKee and Kieran Conway 0-01 each

The Magherafelt scorers were Emmett McGuckin 1-04, Chrissy Spiers 0-02 frees, Phillip McCusker, Anton McElhone and Fergal Duffin 0-01 each

Glenullin 1-12

Lavey 0-11

Paddy Bradley was at his brilliant best when he scored 0-08 in superb display of accurate finishing that ensured a four point win over Lavey at Sean O’Maolain Park.

The winners led 0-07 to 0-05 at half time, Paddy Bradley the main scorer in this spell. However Lavey were never far behind with a spread of scorers and they started the second half with a brace o points that tied the scores at 0-07 each.

Paddy Bradley edged Glenullin ahead and then came the only goal of the game from Karl McNicholl in the 40th minute. From that to the end the Mitcxhel’s kept control of the game for their second win of the season.

The Glenullin scorers were Paddy Bradley 0-08, 0-02 frees, Karl McNicholl 1-00, Dermot O’Kane 0-02, Ruairi Bradley, Dominic McIlvar 0-01 each

The Lavey scorers were Chris Henry 0-03, Caolan O’Boyle, Anthony McGurk, Kevin O’Neill 0-02 each, Ben Dodds and Dermot O’Neill 0-01 each

Steelstown 0-09

Glen 0-04

Newly promoted Steelstown scored a comfortable win over a below par Glen team to register their first ever win in senior football.

Glen had first use of the wind but a succession of wides put paid to any chance they had of spoiling Steelstown’s part as they celebrated their first ever senior win.

Stephen Cleary was at his imperious best after Ciaran McFall had given Glen the lead. Darren McDaid scored the third Steelstown point, with Cleary getting the other three as the home side led 0-04 to 0-02 at the break. Paul McLaughlin scored the second Glen point.

The second half was very much a slow procession of scores, substitute Ryan Winton scoring the third Glen point for 0-06 to 0-03 and the fourth for 0-08 to 0-04. Stephen Cleary scored Steelstown’s five second half points.

The Steelstown scorers were Stephen Cleary 0-08, 0-03 frees and Darren McDaid 0-01

The Glen scorers were Ryan Winton 0-02, Ciaran McFall and Paul McLaughlin 0-01 each

Craigbane 1-11

Ballinderry 2-10

A late goal by Raymond Wilkinson saved Ballinderry from a shock defeat away to a lvely Craigbane team in windy conditions at Craigbane.

Lee Moore opened the scoring for Craigbane but Darren McGeehan equalised before Ryan Moore found the net in the 7th minute for 1-01 to 0-01. Aaron Devlin, Fintan Bell and Raymond Wilkinson scored to level the scores for a second time, 0-04 to 1-01. Again Craigbane hit the front through Lee Moore, with Gavan Conwell stretching the lead to three points with a brace of scores. In the 25th minute Darren Conway announced his return with a point but Lee Moore pointed a free for a 1-05 to 1-04 half time lead for Craigbane.

On the restart Jude McLaughlin and Lee Moore with his fourth free put Craigbane 1-07 to 1-04 in front, Cathal O’Kane adding another. But the yo yo game continued as Ballinderry came back with points fromFintan Bell, Jams Conway on his return and Aaron Devlin. Aidan Devine made the score 1-09 to 1-07, Aaron Devlin keeping Ballinderry in touch as the game entered the closing stages. Lee Moore made it a two point game from a free but then a Raymond Wilkinson point was followed by a Wilkinson goal as the Shamrocks hit the front. Lee Moore scored Craigbane’s last point but Aaron Devlin scored the insurance point for the visitors.

The Craigbane scorers were Lee Moore 0-05 frees, Ryan Moore 1-00, Gavan Conwell 0-02, Adrian Devine 0-02, Cathal O’Kane and Jude McLaughlin 0-01 each

The Ballinderry scorers were Raymond Wilkinson 1-02, Aaron Devlin 0-04, Darren Conway 1-00, Fintan Bell 0-02, James Conway and Darren McGeehan 0-01 each