Football: Lamont injury forces abandonment of Coagh - Tobermore derby

The big kick off to the season between Coagh United and Tobermore lasted just 25 minutes in the first half after a serious injury to Coagh player Stephen Lamont stopped play.

Monday, 11th August 2014, 1:00 pm
Tobermore's Stuart Forrest tackles Coagh's Mathew Kempton during Friday nights local derby clash at Hagan Park.INMM3314-343

After another 25 minute wait on the ambulance, referee Jamie Robinson agreed to abandon the match. A replay date will be decided this week by the Northern Ireland Football League.

Coagh’s player Stephen Lamont was taken to Antrim Hospital and after x ray it was discovered that there was no break in either knee or ankle but there was a lot of ligament damage.

Monty will be further assessed this week in the Royal Victoria Hospital. In the mean time everyone from both Clubs wish the player a speedy recovery.

In the 25 minutes that was played, Tobermore took control early on and should have scored early through Alister Young.

The home side rallied and saw Andrew Kelso shoot wide while Aaron Campbell’s shot just grazed the upright.

On 17 minutes the visitors broke clear with Peter Duffin’s 20 yard shot giving Hassan, in the home goal, no chance.

Shortly after Steven Lamont was involved in a corner kick with Campbell, the player went down on the turn. With the light descending it was agreed by all to call the match off so both teams will have to do it all over again at a later date.

Coagh will play Carrick in the League Cup this Tuesday night at Hagan Park Coagh 6.45pm. On Saturday Coagh travel to play Limavady 3pm. On Saturday Coagh Reserves will host Annagh United at Coagh Sports Centre 2pm.

Coagh United: William Hassan, Scott McGeown, James Ferguson, Aaron Thornton, Stephen Glasgow, John Henry, Stephen Lamont, Jonathan Young, Aaron Campbell, Andrew Kelso, Mathew Kempton, Mark Taylor, Edson Cunha, Mark Drennan, Robert Stewart, Lee Smyth

Tobermore: Paul Wells, Adam Graham, Ryan Winston, Gary Donaldson, Andrew Neal, Dean Stewart, Colin Donaldson, Stuart Forrest, Alistair Young, Trevor Parkhill, Peter Duffin, Sean Heneghan, Barry Kelly, Ciaran McKenna, Martin Hughes, Marc Harkness.

Referee: Jamie Robinson. Assistants: Sam Campbell, Gary Ewing.