Football: Moyola Park hit Banbridge for five

Moyola Park win a header during Saturday's clash with Banbridge Town
Moyola Park win a header during Saturday's clash with Banbridge Town

Moyola Park 5 - 2 Banbridge Town

Moyola Park got their second successive win on Saturday as they got the better of Banbridge Town at Mill Meadow.

Chris Dowie was the main man for the Castledawson men, hitting the back of the Banbridge net on no fewer than four occasions in his side’s 5-2 victory.

Things began well for Banbridge, Conor Downey’s free-kick, headed past Marty Farniok into the Moyola Park goal by John Murphy in the first minute of this encounter.

In the 17th minute Chris Dowie blasted the ball past Stephen Croft from the penalty spot after Robbie Lucas had been fouled by Stephen Greene.

Six minutes later the visitors regained the lead when Conor Downey’s free kick from just outside the penalty area was expertly placed into the top right hand corner of Farniok’s net.

The home side equalised for a second time in the 33rd minute when Mark Waddell headed past Croft after Lucas had crossed from the right wing.

One minute later Mark Teggart received a second yellow card for a bad tackle on the speedy Lucas, leaving his side reduced to ten men.

In the 57th minute Moyola Park took the lead for the first time in the game when Dowie netted off the crossbar following a move involving Darren Walls, Adam Gray and Aaron Wilkinson.

It was that man Dowie who found the back of the Banbridge net again three minutes later, when, having received the ball from Eugene Gallagher on the right, he cleverly turned and placed it beyond the reach of Croft.

The visitors never really threatened Farniok’s goal during the second half and Dowie brought his tally to four during added time to give Mervyn Pattison’s charges a convincing victory.

Moyola Park: Marty Farniok, Craig McAllister, Gareth Stewart, Steven McQuilan, Mark Waddell, Adam Gray (Nicholas Black 81), Robbie Lucas (Connor Barrow 86), Eugene Gallagher, Chris Dowie, Aaron Wilkinson (David Healy 72), Darren Walls.

Subs not used: Conor Taggart, Kyle Bradley.

Banbridge Town: Stephen Croft, James Wilson, Stephen Greene, John Murphy, Glen Waddell, Martin Buchanan, Ryan Evans, Matthew McCartan, Adam Dennison (Duncan Stoddard 78). Conor Downey, Mark Teggart.

Subs not used: Chris Coleman, Ryan Gourley, David Gray, Neil Watson.