McCordick and Gillespie send Coagh past Ballynahinch

Share this article

It was a step back in time for Coagh when they played away to Ballynahinch on Saturday.

The Co Down side was one of Coagh’s most fierce opponents when they played in the Amateur League and we had some memorable days at the Millbridge during that time.

Saturday’s match was no different with the home side starting the better of the two teams, forcing three corners early on.

The Bridge side got behind Coagh on several occasions with Johnny Hunter and Stuart McMullan causing the havoc.

Coagh struggled early on the heavy ground with McCordick and Gillespie squandering half chances.

On forty minutes the home side were caught on the break with Scott McCordick finishing the move with a curling shot around the keeper from 20 yards.

One up, Coagh should have extended before the break but Jason Gillespie shot wide from ten yard out.

Coagh’s Johnny Yorke kept Coagh in the match with two fine saves before Jason Gillespie wrapped things up for the visitors. Barry Anderson started the move deep into Coagh half, Steven Park picked out Scott McGeown and his pin point pass was knocked home by front man Gillespie.

The home side lost Alan Patterson through injury while Coagh brought on Kempton for Taylor. Yorke again came to Coagh’s rescue as the home side pushed forward.

Near the end the visitors replaced Glenn Clarke with Steven Lamont. It was good to see Lamont making a comeback after being on the Coagh side lines for over a year.

Barry Anderson gave a run out to Aaron Campbell and both Coagh forwards with a bit of luck could have extended Coagh’s lead near the end.

Coagh look now to this Saturday’s Irish Cup match away to Lisburn Distillery. The away team knocked nine without reply in the Irn Bru League Cup earlier in the season so for Coagh it’s a matter of going to Distillery in the hope they can at least gave them a match this time round. Kick off is at 3pm.

Ballynahinch: McMullan, Carlisle, Herron, Bradshaw, Hayes, Boal, Patterson, Hunter, McMullan, S. McMullan, Cheever’s, McKibben, Smyth, Foster.

Coagh: Johnny Yorke, Aaron Thornton, Scott McGeown, James Ferguson, David Calderwood, Barry Anderson,( Aaron Campbell) Steven Park, Mark Taylor,( Mattie Kempton) Gillespie, McCordick, Clarke, (Stephen Lamont) Bill Lees, Timmy Graham

Referee: Mr. K McMahon