Slick Carrick take game away from Coagh

The last time Carrick Rangers played there was a flag on the City Hall in Belfast - that’s over 12 weeks ago.

During that time Carrick have brought in eight players and they look a very slivck outfit, especially going forward.

The visitors had the ball in the net after 50 seconds. One of the new boys, Nathan McConnell, slipped easily through the Coagh defence to score.

Thirteen minutes later the visitors were 2-0 up. Marcus Dallas lost the ball as Coagh were going forward and, with the Coagh defence struggling to get back, Corry Davidson had a clear run on goal, finishing with a low drive past Yorke’s outstretched hand.Moments before this goal, Dallas had smashed one against the upright as Coagh pushed to level.

The home side’s pressure paid off on 26 minutes, Scott McCordick’s shot was only parried by the Carrick stopper with Jason Gillespie heading home the rebound.

Coagh continued with the lion’s share of the play but poor passing and movement from the Coagh side nearly gifted Carrick with another two before the break. Carrick just put this match out of Coagh reach on 52 minutes when the unmarked Nathan McConnell headed home his second of the match.

Coagh brought on Campbell for Nicholl but it was Scott McGeown who had a glorious chance to put Coagh back in the match. Faced only with the keeper the right back should have had a go but he instead tried to set up McCordick and the chance was lost.

Coagh again took control and smashed the upright twice. Scott McCordick pulled one back on 88 minutes but it was all too late for the home side. Coagh amassed six corners, to Carrick’s three; Carrick gave away twenty three free kicks to Coagh’s nine. Coagh had two players booked Carrick had none!

This week Coagh have no match, but the following week Coagh entertains Dergview at Hagan Park. Kick off is at 3pm.

Coagh United: Johnny Yorke, Scott McGeown, Aaron Thornton, Barry Anderson, (Mattie Kempton), David Calderwood, Steven Park, Marcus Dallas, Glenn Clarke, David Nicholl (Aaron Campbell) Scott McCordick Jason Gillespie, Mark Taylor Kyle Nelson.

Carrick Rangers: Simon Steele, Conor McCloskey, Lee Collegian, Gary Havern, Anthony lagan, Jonny Addis,(Aaron Hamadan) Dean Carlyle, Neill Harkin, Nathan McConnell, Sean Friars, Daniel Kelly) Corry Davison, (Adam Dick, Clarke) Arron Harris, Glenn Taggert Referee: Mr Paddy McFadden, (Londonderry) Chris Park,(Banbridge) Michael Patterson (Enniskillen)