Aghaloo claim minor double

Owen Ward maintains possession with the help of Aghaloo team mate Sean Cullen. INTT4412-711DCA
Owen Ward maintains possession with the help of Aghaloo team mate Sean Cullen. INTT4412-711DCA

Aghaloo completed the grade three minor double, but they were taken to the pin of their collars by a gallant Tattyreagh side in this league final at Father Hackett Park in Augher yesterday afternoon, writes Kevin Kelly.

There was little between the two sides with a scoring burst of 1-2 without reply in the final quarter ultimately proving to be the difference between the two sides. Tiarnan Donnelly put the winners in front from an early free but at the end of a a low scoring first half it was Tattyreagh who held a slender 0-3 to 0-2 lead with Peter McDonagh scoring a brace and Eoin Murray also on target, Kyle Thompson the other Aghaloo marksman.

Two minutes into the second half Tattyreagh struck for a goal through Caolan McDonagh to really put the cat among the pigeons. Aghaloo didn’t panic though with Ruairi McGlone, Tiarnan Donnelly and substitute Niall McElroy all scoring points before a free from Donnelly levelled matters.

McGlone then put Aghaloo in front but Tattyreagh responded with Gareth Mimnagh converting a placed ball. That’s when Aghaloo made their push for the finishing line.

Donnelly stroked over a well hit “45” before centre half back Jody McGlone punched home a fifty second minute goal. Substitute Oisin Gildernew then scored to put his side five in front but Tattyreagh refused to throw in the towel. Mimnagh pointed from play and Oisin Mullan got a goal but time wasn’t on their side and a relieved Aghaloo side greeted the final whistle as they secured a superb double at this level.

Aghaloo scorers – Tiarnan Donnelly 0-4, Jody McGlone 1-0, Ruairi McGlone 0-2, Kyle Thompson 0-1, Niall McElroy 0-1, Oisin Gildernew 0-1

Tattyreagh scorers – Caolan McDonagh 1-0, Oisin Mullan 1-0, Peter McDonagh 0-2, Gareth Mimnagh 0-2, Eoin Murray 0-1

Referee – Dermot Monaghan, Augher