GAA: ACL Division Three - Victory for Brocagh, but Aghaloo and Killyman lose

Ryan Mayse plays the ball ahead of Aghaloo's Mark Mc Cormack. INTT3512-708DCA
Ryan Mayse plays the ball ahead of Aghaloo's Mark Mc Cormack. INTT3512-708DCA


Eight second half points helped Brocagh overcome visitors Drumquin and improved the Emmets league position with a couple of rounds remaining to be played.

The sides could not be separated over half-time as they finished on 0-4 each, Mickey Hughes (0-2), Justin Campbell and Chris McCloskey scoring for Brocagh.

Drumquin enjoyed parity during this segment of play via Brendan Gormley (0-2), Barry Gormley and Ryan McCallion.

Fintan McPhilomey netted the only three-pointer of the match for Drumquin after 37 minutes but Brocagh’s response to the goal proved invigorating to their overall quest as Hughes,

And Donal Robinson and Padraig Bell point braces moved them into a winning position.

Frankie McAlynn (0-2), Barry Gormley and Liam Patterson gave the Tones every chance, but Justin Campbell and Sean McFall completed the home returns as the Emmets emerged one-point victors.

Brocagh scorers – Mickey Hughes 0-4, Donal Robinson 0-2, Justin Campbell 0-2, Padraig Bell 0-2, Chris McCloskey 0-1, Sean McFall 0-1

Drumquin scorers – Fintan McPhilomey 1-0, Frankie McAlynn 0-2, Brendan Gormley 0-2, Barry Gormley 0-2, Ryan McCallion 0-1 Liam Patterson 0-1


Ryan Mayse was at it again yesterday, the St Eugenes forward ace scoring eleven points for his side as Newtownstewart overcame Aghaloo to strengthen their play-off hopes.

Mayse curled over six points in open play and added five frees for good measure during the course of proceedings, making it three weeks on the trot in double figures score-wise for the young attacker.

Goals courtesy of Damien Patton early on and Aidan McSorley in the second half also gave Aghaloo too much ground to make up.

It had been 1-7 to 0-6 over the interval, Tiarnan Donnelly landing all but one of the home scoring tally in that half.

Conor Mullan and Ruari McGlone got second half points for the O’Neills, but the St Eugenes bird had flown with both league points securely under their wings by then.

Aghaloo scorers – Tiernan Donnelly 0-5, Conor Mullan 0-2, Ruari McGlone 0-1

Newtownstewart scorers - Ryan Mayse 0-11, Aidan McSorley 1-0, Damian Patton 1-0, Kevin Gallagher 0-1, Turlough McNamee 0-1, Tyler Stockton 0-1


Killyman’s play-off chances took a blow when Beragh’s late scoring burst catapulted the Red Knights to victory at home base in St Mary’s Park.

Martin Rodgers performed a leading role on the scoreboard and in general play for the Knights who showed ahead at half-time by 1-6 to 0-4.

Rodgers and Eddie Holland supplied major scores for the host side but a battling Killyman team displayed good character to fight their way back into contention after half-time.

Enda McGahan led the scoring charge with five St Mary’s points plus goals via Damien McNulty and Paul McVeigh (penalty) actually gave the St Mary’s a two-point advantage on 52 minutes.

Beragh regrouped and Rodgers was at the helm as the Red Knights regained the impetus thanks to a run of points in the latter stages of an entertaining contest.

Beragh scorers – Martin Rodgers 1-7, Eddie Molloy 1-2, Nathan Grimes 0-2

Killyman scorers – Enda McGahan 0-5, Damien McNulty 1-1, Paul McVeigh 1-0, Eddie Holland 0-1


The Eire Ogs are now two points clear of third-placed Fintona and four points adrift of leaders Loughmacrory following this clear-cut success away to Drumragh.

Paddy McKernan accounted for 2-3 of Clogher’s 2-8 opening half total, Drumragh keeping in relative touch at six behind thanks to points from Gareth Starrs, Shane Cleary and Paul Maguire in the main.

Clogher kept the pressure on as the final 30 minutes unfolded, their efforts yielding an additional nine points provided by Barry McKenna, Jamie Callaghan, Mark Tierney, Paul Tierney and Emmet McConnell among others.

Drumragh plugged away gamely but the Eire Ogs packed more power in attack and they ran out good winners to leave Loughmacrory still requiring a point to make completely sure of the title.

Drumragh scorers – Shane Cleary 0-3, Gareth Starrs 0-3, Paul Maguire 0-2, Benny Drumm 0-1, Martin Lowry 0-1, Gareth McGrath 0-1, Tommy Murphy 0-1

Clogher scorers – Paddy McKernan 2-4, Barry McKenna 0-3, Emmet McConnell 0-3, Paul Tierney 0-2, Jamie Callaghan 0-2, Mark Bogue 0-1, Mark Tierney 0-1, Ciaran Shields 0-1


The Roes welcomed a Fintona side seeking points to cement their play-off place but the Pearses were overturned in convincing fashion.

Fintona found their stride a little too late in the day and they played second best most of the way to an Owen Roes side that led 0-6 to 0-2 over half-time.

A Ronan McNulty goal shortly after the change of ends tightened the home grip on the game, Andy Devine, Seamus Dooher and county minor Cathal McShane tagging on points for them.

Aaron McCarney (0-3), Niall Mellon and Bernard Cassidy pulled points back for Fintona but this match belonged to an Owen Roes side that has played with plenty of promise on several occasions this season.

Owen Roes scorers – Ronan McNulty 1-1, Andy Devine 0-3, Seamus Dooher 0-2, Cathal McShane 0-2, Brendan Boggs 0-1, Gerard McShane 0-1

Fintona scorers – Aaron McCarney 0-3, Thomas McGrath 0-1, Bernard Cassidy 0-1, Niall Mellon 0-1, Benny McCarney 0-1


Seven scores from Mark Corry, a Ronan Devine goal and a single Sean Harper point enabled Castlederg to narrowly overcome Errigal Ciaran at the St Eugenes base.

Errigal again played well but came away without anything tangible to show for their toils over the hour, despite leading by a point with only a few minutes left to play.

The first half finished with the sides tied on 1-4 to 0-7, Darren Carson top scoring for Errigal with 0-4, and the hardworking Padraig McGirr getting a couple of points and Brian Mullan landing one.

Eoin Gormley, Carson and Michael Harte edged the guests ahead but Corry booted over a brace late on to turn things round once more.

Castlederg scorers – Mark Corry 0-7, Ronan Devine 1-0, Sean Harper 0-1

Errigal Ciaran scorers – Darren Carson 0-5, Padraig McGirr 0-2, Eoin Gormley 0-1, Brian Mullan 0-1, Michael Harte 0-1


Tattyreagh tried to thwart Dregish but the Pearse Ogs were having none of it and the hosts won pretty comfortably.

Stevie Breen fired over some tidy scores for the Pearse Ogs, Fergus McCrossan and Mark Catterson also on the home scoresheet more than once. The St Patrick’s were unable to muster enough of a scoring threat despite contributions from Kevin Gallagher, Ruari McDonagh, Mark Darcy, Adrian Harley and Darren Mullen.

Dregish scorers – Stevie Breen 0-5, Mark Catterson 0-3, Fergus McCrossan 0-2, Martin Bonnar 0-1, Danny Strain 0-1, Ronan Glackin 0-1

Tattyreagh scorers – Ruari McDonagh 0-2, Kevin Gallagher 0-2, Mark Darcy 0-1, Darren Mullen 0-1, Adrian Harley 0-1