GAA: Five changes for Red Hands ahead of Mayo clash

Tyrone's Darren McCurry who retains his place in the Tyrone team to play Mayo
Tyrone's Darren McCurry who retains his place in the Tyrone team to play Mayo

Tyrone have made five changes ahead of their home league encounter with Mayo with Colm Cavanagh named in the starting team for the first time this season.

The others to come into the team for the Healy Park game are Tiarnan McCann, Emmett McKenna, Peter Hughes and Ronan O’Neill.

There are some familiar faces on the Red Hands substitute bench with Dermot Carlin, Sean Cavanagh, Kyle Coney and Mark Donnelly all in line to make their first appearances of the season if called upon.

Tyrone will be hoping to build on their opening round draw with Derry against last season’s All Ireland finalists. When the sides last met in the All Ireland semi-final last August, Mayo proved too strong for Mickey Harte’s side.

Tyrone team: Niall Morgan, Aidan McCrory, Conor Clarke, Barry Tierney, Ciaran McGinley, Peter Harte, Tiarnan McCann, Colm Cavanagh, Conan Grugan, Emmett McKenna, Shea McGuigan, Peter Hughes, Darren McCurry, Mattie Donnelly, Ronan O’Neill. Substitutes: Michael O’Neill, Dermot Carlin, Sean Cavanagh, Kyle Coney, Mark Donnelly, Connor McAliskey, Danny McBride, Ryan McKenna, Ronan McNabb, Ronan McNamee, Patrick McNiece.

Mayo: Rob Hennelly, Kevin Keane, Ger Cafferkey, Colm Boyle, Lee Keegan, Shane McHale, Brendan Harrison, Aidan O’Shea, Jason Gibbons, Cathal Carolan, Keith Higgins, Adam Gallagher, Kevin McLoughlin, Andy Moran, Darren Coen.