GAA: Lough home in on title, wins for St.Marys and O’Neills

Aghaloo's Ruairi Mc Glone celebrates his second half goal with Stephen Donnelly. INTT3512-710DCA
Aghaloo's Ruairi Mc Glone celebrates his second half goal with Stephen Donnelly. INTT3512-710DCA


Championship finalists Killeeshil signed off before the big day with a win at home to Drumquin and kept their play-off challenge ticking over too.

Drumquin made the St Marys work and the Tones were only two down at half-time on 0-7 to 0-5, Ryan McCallion and Frankie McAlynn among their score providers.

Ruari O’Neill, Shane Mallon and Rory McCann notched point braces apiece for the St Mary’s before half-time, Conall Monaghan also on target.

O’Neill, Mallon(0-2), John McMullan and Packie McMullan tagged on second half home points plus Kevin Hughes kicked a point. Kevin Hughes then found the back of Drumquin’s net to seal the verdict in favour of the St Marys.

Killeeshil scorers – Shane Mallon 0-4, Kevin Hughes 1-1, Ruari O’Neill 0-2, Rory McCann 0-2, Packie McMullan 0-1, John McMullan 0-1, Conall Monaghan 0-1

Drumquin scorers – Ryan McCallion 0-4, Frankie McAlynn 0-4, Brendan Gormley 0-2


Aghaloo returned to winning ways following their narrow championship exit to Killeeshil when just getting the better of a spirited St Joseph’s team.

Stephen Donnelly was back in Aghaloo colours after some time out through injury and he notched six points for the guests during the course of a well contested match.

Ronan O’Kane landed eight scores for the host men, mixing play and place kick efforts like Donnelly on the opposite side.

Kevin McAnena (0-3) and Liam Nicholas (goal) also contributed to the St Joseph’s cause but goal strikes by Barry Quinn and Kevin O’Gorman helped Aghaloo pocket both points.

Glenelly scorers – Ronan O’Kane 0-8, Kevin McAnena 0-3, Liam Nicholas 1-0

Aghaloo scorers – Stephen Donnelly 0-6, Barry Quinn 1-1, Kevin O’Gorman 1-0, Mark McCormack 0-1, Gerard Daly 0-1, Chris Dynes 0-1


Ryan Mayse delivered a master class of point taking from his corner forward slot as the St Eugene’s overcame Brocagh, Mayse landing 0-13 and nine came in open play.

Brocagh battled away gamely but they came up against a player in unstoppable form here. The Emmets were level over the interval on 0-9 to 1-6 but the St Eugenes pulled away in the closing 30 minutes.

The Emmets had a major score from Michael Hughes who also claimed six points into the overall bargain. Justin Campbell,

Colm McFall and Eugene Ryan scored single points for Brocagh but the Emmets faced an uphill battle as the second half progressed.

Kevin Gallagher, Niall Mayse, Damian Patton, Sean Gallagher and Mark McElhatton got on the Newtownstewart scoresheet but Ryan Mayse made the difference with those thirteen points.

Newtowstewart scorers – Ryan Mayse 0-13, Kevin Gallagher 0-1, Niall Mayse 0-1, Damian Patton 0-1, Sean Gallagher 0-1, Mark McElhatton 0-1

Brocagh scorers – Michael Hughes 1-6, Eugene Ryan 0-1, Colm McFall 0-1, Justin Campbell 0-1


This turned out to be a pretty decent game that the St Marys managed to shade by a couple of points in the end.

Martin Lowry and Gareth Starrs netted goals for the Sarsfields but Killyman’s greater potency in terms of points proved key in the overall scheme of things.

The St Marys gathered in scores from seven sources as Enda McGahan, Paul McVeigh, Caolan Morgan, Ryan McKenna, Eddie Holland, Ciaran Og Hughes and Mickey Donnelly made contributions to the visiting account.

Drumragh replied through Shane Cleary and Lowry scores but Killyman reached the finish two points in front.

Drumragh scorers – Martin Lowry 1-2, Gareth Starrs 1-1, Shane Cleary 0-2, Gavin Quinn 0-1, Paul Maguire 0-1, Sean Bresnahan 0-1

Killyman scorers – Enda McGahan 0-3, Caolan Morgan 0-3, Ryan McKenna 0-2, Paul McVeigh 0-2, Eddie Holland 0-2, Ciaran Og Hughes 0-2, Mickey Donnelly 0-2


Hosts Fintona were in dominant mood as they sealed joint second spot via a clear-cut victory at home to Castlederg.

The visiting St Eugenes remain in the chase for a play-off place but will be looking to step up significantly on this performance. They were still in touch over half-time, though, at 0-8 to 1-2 and got within two points before Fintona turned on the turbo charge.

Thomas McGrath, Aaron McCarney and Sonny McDonagh scored points braces for Fintona in the first 30 minutes, top scorer Mark Corry bagging a goal for the St Eugenes. Three final half goals for Fintona came from Cillian McCann, McGrath and Aidan Quinn left a lop-side look on the closing the scoreboard as Castlederg’s challenge petered out.

Fintona scorers - Thomas McGrath 1-4, Aidan Quinn 1-2, Cillian McCann 1-0, Aaron McCarney 0-2, Niall Mellon 0-2, Sonny McDonagh 0-2, Nathan Deane 0-1

Castlederg scorers – Sean Meehan 1-2, Sean Harper 0-4.


These two teams met in Loughmacrory and the host side emerged victorious by the skin of their teeth as they moved within touching distance of the league trophy.

Clogher started play joint second on 17 points alongside Fintona and four adrift of the St Theresa’s but holding a game in hand. It was therefore a vital tie and the duo gave their all in pursuit of the points.

Paddy McKernan and Barry McKenna were among the Clogher score takers as the Eire Og’s reached half-time 0-6 to 0-4 in front. Loughmacrory, despite having Pearse Gallagher red carded by referee Eamon McHugh close to half-time, notched 1-2 early in the final 30 minutes as Kevin Collins, Mark McCullagh and Niall Grimes(goal) pushed them three clear.

Emmet McConnell responded in fine fashion for Clogher as he struck home a great goal to tie matters. The Eire Ogs lost Domninic McKernan to a second yellow card, even point exchanges ensuing to keep the teams level before Ronan Ward lofted over a super winning point on 60 minutes.

Loughmacrory: Ronan Ward 1-1, Niall Grimes 1-1, Kevin Collins 0-2, Brendan Donaghy 0-2, Mark McCullagh 0-2

Clogher: Paddy McKernan 0-4, Emmet McConnell 1-1, Barry McKenna 0-2, Ciaran Shields 0-1, Jamie Callaghan 0-1, Cilian Barkey 0-1


Errigal Ciaran claimed their first point of the campaign and two had looked on the cards after a bright start to proceedings.

The Errigal men led by eight points at one stage of the contest following two Darren Carson goals plus points via Michael Harte and Paudge Mulgrew.

Dregish came back with a Fergus McCrossan major plus Peter McCrossan, Martin Bonner and Ronan Glackin points to go in just 2-5 to 1-6 down.

Errigal were still leading by two getting on near the finish but Aidan O’Kane and Fergus McCrossan earned the Pearse Ogs a share of the takings.

Dregish scorers – Fergus McCrossan 1-2, Ronan Glackin 0-2, Martin Bonner 0-2, Aidan O’Kane 0-2, Peter McCrossan 0-1, Niall O’Kane 0-1, Mark Catterson 0-1, Cathal Rodgers 0-1

Errigal scorers – Darren Carson 2-0, Michael Harte 0-5, Paudge Mulgrew 0-2, Shane Donaghy 0-1, Emmet Quinn 0-1


Six points from Tyrone minor Cathal McShane helped Owen Roes overcome Tattyreagh at the St Patrick’s base.

McShane was ably assisted by Seamus Dooher(0-3) and Brendan Boggs (0-2) before the latter picked up a second yellow card.

Collie Harkin and Duncan Hyndman replied with some good scores for the Tatts but the Roes had three to spare at the finish.

Tattyreagh scorers – Collie Harkin 0-5, Duncan Hydnman 0-3

Owen Roes scorers – Cathal McShane 0-6, Seamus Dooher 0-3, Brendan Boggs 0-2