Honours even in St.Marys derby

Enda McGahan breaks free of Martin O'Neill, Aghaloo  INTT3112-184JS
Enda McGahan breaks free of Martin O'Neill, Aghaloo INTT3112-184JS

Killeeshil 0-11 Killyman 1-8

The visiting St Mary’s were four points down here in extended injury time but Enda McGahan, pictured right, scored a free and then drove home a goal to square the contest.

This looked like one of the division’s top games on paper but the two St Mary’s only managed five points between them in a low-key first half that ended with Killeeshil 0-3 to 0-2 in front.

Play began to open out more as the second half got up and running, Kevin Hughes in good form and picking off some tidy points for the host St Mary’s. Shane Mallon, Gary Reilly, Packie McMullan and Ruari O’Neill also supplied scores as the home men worked themselves into a four-point lead.

Earlier points from Ryan McKenna, Damien McNulty, Michael Donnelly and Niall McAlinden kept Killyman in touch but they needed all of the five minutes in added time to pull a point out of the hat.

A couple of second half injury delays meant that there was still time for a twist in the tale, Enda McGahan taking centre stage in a late but impressive encore.

McGahan converted a 64th minute free and then bagged a close range goal on the 65-minute mark to split the points.

Killeeshil scorers – Kevin Hughes 0-4, Shane Mallon 0-3, Gary Reilly 0-2, Packie McMullan 0-1, Ruari O’Neill 0-1

Killyman scorers – Enda McGahan 1-3, Damien McNulty 0-1, Michael Donnelly 0-1, Paul McVeigh 0-1, Niall McAlinden 0-1, Ryan McKenna 0-1

Drumquin 1-14 Glenelly 2-12

The Tones and St Joseph’s served up quite a tussle that just went the way of the Glenelly men.

Fintan McPhilomey had a first half goal for the Tones, Ryan McCallion and Liam Patterson at the double in point terms for them too.

The St Joseph’s, nonetheless, kept strides in good style as Seamus Harkin netted a penalty plus the same player tagged on three points into the bargain.

Exchanges in the second 30 minutes remained just as riveting, McCallion, Patterson and Frankie McAlynn(0-4) giving Drumquin every chance of taking something from the game.

But Cathal Sheerin (1-0), Ronan O’Kane and Conal McCullagh scored to ensure a slender win for the delighted St Joseph’s.

Drumquin scorers – Frankie McAlynn 0-4, Ryan McCallion 0-4, Liam Patterson 0-3, Fintan McPhilomey 1-0, Benny Gormley 0-1, Matthew Walsh 0-1, Barry Gormley 0-1

Glenelly scorers – Seamus Harkin 1-5, Ronan O’Kane 0-3, Conal McCullagh 0-3, Cathal Sheerin 1-0, Kevin McAnena 0-1

Errigal Thirds 0-9 Beragh 0-16

Errigal Ciaran Thirds tried to make it fourth time lucky in search of a win but Beragh boasted eight different score providers as they triumphed by seven points.

Beragh underperformed at home to Newtownstewart in round three and set out determined to recapture the sort of form that carried them all the way into last year’s play-offs. They started in brisk fashion to move into a six-point lead as Eddie Molloy, Niall Owens, Nathan Grimes and Martin Rodgers supplied scores.

Michael Harte(0-3) helped Errigal come back into the equation as the first half unfolded, Eoin Gormley, Anton McDermott, Peter Loughran and Niall Quinn also pointing but Beragh still showed ahead by 0-10 to 0-7 at half-time.

Errigal were restricted to two points in the last half, Gormley landing both. The Red Knights then kicked on through Hugh Franey, Owens, Rodgers and Grimes to seal a second success of the season.

Errigal scorers – Eoin Gormley 0-3, Michael Harte 0-3, Anton McDermott 0-1, Peter Loughran 0-1, Niall Quinn 0-1

Beragh scorers – Niall Owens 0-4, Martin Rodgers 0-3, Eddie Molloy 0-2, Nathan Grimes 0-2, Hugh Franey 0-2, Declan McCann 0-1, Chris Devlin 0-1, Chris McSorley 0-1

Tattyreagh 3-5 Fintona 1-9

Three timely second half goals helped hosts Tattyreagh inflict a first defeat of the campaign on neighbours Fintona.

Guests Fintona were seeking a third league win, Tattyreagh their second. Neither team made much headway in a rather cat and mouse style opening half that the Pearses got the better of by 0-4 to 0-2, Aaron McCarney notching a point brace for the away side.

Tattyreagh started the last half in splendid style as Conor Taggart bagged two goals inside seven minutes. McCarney pointed in between but interval leaders Fintona found themselves three down before they sent over a trio of points to square matters courtesy of McCarney, Bernard Cassidy and Cilian McCann.

Declan Gallagher then restored Tattyreagh’s three-point cushion when netting nearing the last 10 minutes. Fintona, though, came back again for Mark Donnelly to score a goal but Chris McCarroll, debutante Joe Cartin and Taggart scored to see the Tatts safely over the winning line.

Tattyreagh scorers – Conor Taggart 2-2, Declan Gallagher 1-0, Kevin Gallagher, Joe Cartin 0-1, Chris McCarroll 0-1

Fintona scorers – Aaron McCarney 0-4, Mark Donnelly 1-0, Aidan Quinn 0-1, Kevin McGirr 0-01, Cilian McCann 0-1, Bernard Cassidy 0-1

Castlederg 2-11 Dregish 0-7

The St Eugene’s were mustard keen to seal a third win off the bounce and goals in each half here assisted them in achieving such an aim.

Sean Harper showed the St Eugene’s the way with a goal and three points in the first 30 minutes, Mark Corry landing two points in support as the home men led 1-5 to 0-3 over the interval.

Aidan O’Kane in chief plus Peter McCrossan and Mark Catterson claimed points for the Pearse Og’s but a goal from the influential Sean Meehan plus three second half Stefan Gallen points helped seal that third straight win for the St Eugene’s.

Castlederg scorers – Sean Harper 1-3, Mark Corry 0-4, Sean Meehan 1-1, Stefan Gallen 0-3

Dregish scorers - Aidan O’Kane 0-4, Mark Catterson 0-2, Peter McCrossan 0-1

Loughmacrory 0-16 Drumragh 0-4

The St Teresa’s showed the way at the top on six points before a ball was kicked and they kept up the gallop via a clear-cut win over Drumragh.

Ronan Ward led the scoring charge for Loughmacory, claiming eight frees to guide his side in the right direction. Ward had four points in the first half as Loughmacrory went in at the break leading 0-5 to 0-1, Tommy Murphy scoring Drumragh’s solitary point.

Loughmacrory pulled further clear during the course of the final 30 minutes with Ward, Brendan Donaghy, Stephen Donaghy, Darren Kelly and Kevin Collins all finding their range.

Martin Taggart (0-2) and Murphy replied for the Sarsfields but they only proved to be consolation scores in the wider scheme of things.

Loughmacrory scorers: Ronan Ward 0-8 Brendan Donaghy 0-2, Enda Ward 0-1, Niall Grimes 0-1, Darren Kelly 0-1, Stephen Donaghy 0-1, John Gallagher 0-1, Kevin Collins 0-1

Drumragh scorers: Tommy Murphy 0-2, Martin Taggart 0-2