Hurling: Kevin Lynch’s claim Feile A title


Kevin Lynch’s. . . . . . . . . . . .1-10

Lavey . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ... 0-5

With James Crawford in tremendous form in the middle of the field Lavey made Kevin Lynch’s battle for every score in the first period, the latter favoured by a strong wind that blew diagonally down the pitch.

Indeed with just a minute of the first half remaining Kevin Lynch’s had depended on the free-taking of the outstanding Richie Mullan to give them a 0-3 to 0-1 lead.

But, just when Lavey looked to be well placed for a second half charge, Kevin Lynch’s struck for the only goal from Mullan, helping them to a 1-4 to 0-1 interval advantage.

Buoyed by this advantage, Kevin Lynch’s defended superbly and restricted Lavey to just four points, with powerful Tiarnan McHugh tormenting the Lavey defence with wonderful high fielding, strong running with the ball on the hurl and fantastic finishing that yielded five points from play.

In the end Kevin Lynch’s were comfortable winners but Lavey battled right to the finish in a high-standard decider.

Kevin Lynch’s scorers: Richie Mullan 1-4, Tiarnan McHugh 0-5, Cathan O’Neill 0-1

Lavey scorers: Fintan Bradley 0-3, Ryan Mulholland (0-1) Enda Downey (0-1)

Kevin Lynch’s: Darragh McGilligan; Cahir Higgins, Cahir Hasson, Eoin McKeever; Conor McKelvey, Niall McNicholl, Niall Mullan; Seán Kelly, Cathan O’Neill; Daire McKeever, Richie Mullan, Padráig O’Kane; Thomas Doran, Tiarnan McHugh, Cahair McElhinney.

Lavey: Eoin Mulholland; Neil O’Kane, Eoghan Laverty, Gearoid Doherty; Padráig Duggan, Ryan Ward, Cormac Collins; James Crawford, Conor Mullan; Ryan Mulholland, Fintan Bradley, Enda Downey; Joe Duggan, Callum Murray, Ryan McGill. Subs: Peadar Hasson for Joe Duggan H-T; Enda Mullan for C Murray 28 nins


Alan Nash, Doire Trasna