Hurling: Slaughtneil win Feile shield


Slaughtneil . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .4-6

Na Magha. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..3-4

Slaughtneil got off to the perfect start with a goal in the opening minute, Sé Cassidy firing into the net.

However Na Magha responded strongly with a free from Eoghan Cassidy and another Cassidy point. The recovery was complete midway through the half when Brendan McDaid slotted over the third to level.

Cassidy put Na Magha 0-4 to 1-0 ahead from a 30m free eight minutes from the break after excellent play from James Lynch and McCloskey.

Slaughtneil then hit Na Magha with a 1-03 scoring burst. Oisin McMullan levelled, Patrick Quigg then landing a free for the lead. Sé Cassidy scored his second goal and Fergal Cassidy extendedthe lead before the short whistle for 2-3 to 0-4.

Slaughtneil struck again in the first minute of the second half, Quigg opening up a five point advantage, 3-03 to 0-04. But Na Magha responded with a terrific goal from Brendan McDaid.

Slaughtneil hit back with an Emmet Convery point but Na Magha were not going to give up and Eoghan Cassidy hit back with a long range shot that sailed to the net for 3-4 to 2-4. The game was set up for a grandstand finale when McDaid fired low to the net to tie the scores at 3-4 each with five minutes remaining.

However, it was Slaughtneil that broke the deadlock with a Quigg goal three minutes at from the end, Cassidy getting an insurance point to give Slaughtneil the Shield.

Slaughtneil: Tomas McCloskey; Seán McCloskey, Cathal Glass, Michael McKenna; Seán Mullan, Aidan Molloy, Seán McErlean, Fergal Cassidy (0-1), Paudie Convery (0-1); Shane McMullan, Oisin McMullan, Seán Martin (0-1), Patrick Quigg (2-1), Emmet Convery (0-1), Sé Cassidy (2-1). Sub: Fintan McGrath for S McMullan

Na Magha: Ciannan Carney; Piarais Casey, Matthew McCauley, Nathan Doherty; James Friel, Conor Green, Cillian Hughes; Jams Lynch, Michael Lynch; Ben McCarron, Shay McConmey, Eoghan Cassidy (1-4); Caoimhin McCloskey, Brennan McDaid (2-1), Patrick McGrotty. Sub: Michael Moore for PMcGrotty


Eddie Nash, Doire Trasna