Moy win promotion

Niall Gavin, Derrytresk INTT3211-184JS
Niall Gavin, Derrytresk INTT3211-184JS

Galbally 1-9 Moy 2-9

Moy have bounced straight back to senior football after this three point success away to Galbally on Saturday afternoon confirmed them as runners up in division two.

With Pomeroy having picked up two points after Eskra failed to field the sky blues were briefly down to third place in the table but first half goals from Ryan O’Neill and Kris Kavanagh sent them on their road to victory.

The visitors led 2-4 to 0-5 at the break and that was after Galbally had led with points from Peter Murphy, Sean Murphy and Ryan McGurk. Ryan Mellon was proving unerring from free kicks with Mark McConville weighing in with a brace from play as well but with ten minutes to go Galbally got back in the game when Blaine Nugent converted a penalty after he had been fouled.

Damian McCrory had a point for the hosts but that came after Mellon had scored his fourth free to help them on their way

Galbally scorers – Sean Murphy 0-4, Blaine Nugent 1-1, Damian McCrory 0-2, Peter Murphy 0-1, Ryan McGurk 0-1

Moy scorers – Ryan Mellon 0-4, Kris Kavanagh 1-0, Ryan O’Neill 1-0, Mark McConville 0-2, Sean Cavanagh 0-2, Eunan Deeney 0-1

Urney 0-7 Loughmacrory 2-8

Loughmacrory had to win here in order to have any chance of getting out of the bottom two and they duly delivered away to Urney for a result that sees them leapfrog over Galbally in the table and gives them home advantage against the Pearses in a sudden death relegation play off.

The visitors led 1-3 to 0-2 at the interval with Stephen Donaghy and Ronan Ward getting points with the latter also scoring their goal, Johnny Lafferty and Jamie McAleer the St.Columbas scorers. In the second half Ward tagged on another 1-3 with Sean Paul Slane and Ciaran Ward also on target.

Lafferty and McAleer had Urney points but it was a number of sending offs by referee Francie Gallagher that grabbed the headlines. Aidan Lynch, Ronan Lafferty Martin Holland were all dismissed for the home side with Pearse Gallagher receiving his marching orders for the visitors.

Urney scorers – Johnny Lafferty 0-4, Jamie McAleer 0-2, Ronan Lafferty 0-1

Loughmacrory scorers – Ronan Ward 2-4, Stephen Donaghy 0-1, Enda Ward 0-1, Ciaran Ward 0-1, Sean Paul Slane 0-1

Cookstown 2-7 Derrytresk 1-10

Derrytresk came from four down deep into injury time to salvage a draw at Paddy Cullen Park on Saturday afternoon to become only the third side to take points off double winners Cookstown this season.

The Father Rocks made a number of changes to their line out but it didn’t affect them as they made most of the running in the first half.

Marty McVey grabbed a goal after only seven minutes and with Mark McCarron, Matthew Carberry and Conor Mullan supplying points they led 1-6 to 0-4 at the break, Niall Gavin and Caolan Corr among the Derrytresk marksmen.

The visitors hit the opening five points of the second half to draw level with Gavin and Joe McKee on target and with play held up for a number of injuries Cookstown had to wait until the 60th minute to open their second half account, Brian Mulligan with a goal.

When Martin Murray added a point it looked to be all over bar the shouting but a Conor O’Neill “45” sailed all the way to the net and in the next attack Cathal O’Neill converted a free as it finished level.

Cookstown scorers – Brian Mulligan 1-1, Marty McVey 1-0, Conor Mullan 0-2, Paddy Kelly 0-1, Mark McCarron 0-1, Matthew Carberry 0-1, Martin Murray 0-1

Derrytresk scorers – Niall Gavin 0-4, Conor O’Neill 1-1, Cathal O’Neill 0-2, Liam Slater 0-1, Caolan Corr 0-1, Joe McKee 0-1

Clann na Gael 0-15 Strabane 2-5

Tyrone captain Stephen O’Neill was in outstanding form for Clann na Gael as the home side secured the win that they needed to avoid the relegation play offs at the expense of Strabane.

The Sigersons went into this game with an outside chance of securing automatic promotion but that ended after Eskra failed to field against Pomeroy although Strabane are still in the play offs.

It was the visitors who led 2-4 to 0-8 at the break with Brendan and John McLaughlin getting their goals with Danny McBride hitting a couple of points, O’Neill with half a dozen points after Brian Dooher had opened their account.

In the second half it was the O’Neill show as he scored all seven of his side’s points to finish with an impressive individual haul of 0-13, Ruairi McElroy with Strabane’s sole second half score in injury time at the end of the game.

Clann na Gael scorers – Stephen O’Neill 0-13, Brian Dooher 0-1, Sean O’Kane 0-1

Strabane scorers – Brendan McLaughlin 1-0, John McLaughlin 1-0, Danny McBride 0-2, Paddy Roarty 0-1, John Paul Gallagher 0-1, Ruairi McElroy 0-1

Gortin 0-8 Aghyaran 0-8

This result was predicted before a ball was thrown in and it came as no surprise that it finished in a draw which kept both sides out of the relegation picture.

The St.Davogs led 0-4 to 0-3 at halftime with Anthony Devine, Owen Devine, Brian McHugh and Gary Leonard getting their points, Peter Keenan, Ruairi Keenan and Kevin Mossey on target for the hosts.

In the second half it was point for point with Mossey, Brian McGarvey, Ciaran McGarvey, Devine and McHugh among the points for their respective sides before it drew to its inevitable conclusion with an equaliser from Kevin McCullagh for the home team.

Gortin scorers – Kevin Mossey 0-2, Brian McGarvey 0-2, Peter Keenan 0-1, Ruairi Keenan 0-1, Ciaran McGarvey 0-1, Kevin McCullagh 0-1

Aghyaran scorers – Anthony Devine 0-4, Brian McHugh 0-2, Owen Devine 0-1, Gary Leonard 0-1