Tyrone round up

Strabane 0-9 Cookstown 0-18

COOKSTOWN made it five wins in as many outings as they had a double scores victory on their travels to Strabane. The hosts took an early lead through a brace from John McLaughlin, with James McGahan and Connor Mullan responding for the Rock’s.

JP Gallagher put Strabane back in front before the visitors hit five unanswered points, through John Gilmore, Marty Murray, Ryan Pickering and a brace sandwiched in between from the very influential Owen Mulligan. Fergal McGavigan tagged one back but it was Cookstown who finished the half strongly, with Mulligan again weighing in with another couple of fancy scores, to give his side a five point cushion at the break.

Gilmore opened the second half exchanges before both sides traded scores, with Cookstown Full back Stephen Monagahan taking a nose bleed and charging forward to slot over a point. Substitute Warner Mullan and Gallagher on target for the Sigerson’s.

Cookstown again hit the host’s for five in a row with Mulligan starting the spree. Connor Mullan out to prove the doubters wrong, stormed forward to kick an excellent score before corner back Martin Hughes and frees from Mulligan and McGahan stretched Cookstown’s lead to eight points. The biggest cheer of the afternoon arrived when yours truly, who on his first touch, turned and from almost 40 yards split the sticks with a stunning effort.

Gallagher then responded for Strabane and it was left to the impressive Barry Mulligan to finish the scoring, to keep Cookstown top of the league. Strabane Scores- JP Gallagher 0-3, John McLaughlin 0-3, Fergal McGavigan 0-2, Warner Mullan 0-1. Cookstown Scores- Owen Mulligan 0-7, Connor Mullan 0-2, John Gilmore 0-2, James McGahan 0-2, Stephen Monaghan 0-1, Barry Mulligan 0-1, Jason Quinn 0-1, Martin Hughes 0-1, Martin Murray 0-1

Rock 0-10 Augher 1-13

Augher had an impressive six points to spare on their travels to the Rock in Sunday’s early fixture, to bounce back from defeat last week. Aidan and Raymond McElroy had points with Connor McCreesh responding for the Rock.

Points from Jarlath Daly, Sean Hackett, Darragh Donnelly and a 45 from Jamie Donnelly helped Augher to a four point interval lead. Eamon Ward, Tommy Bloomer and Adian McGarrity on target for the Rock. Augher had the opening five scores of the half through a Raymond McElroy brace and three from the boot of Jamie Donnelly.

Ward McCreesh and Ciaran Gourley hit points to leave three between the sides with minutes to play, only for Sean Hackett to pop up late on to score a goal and secure all two points on offer for the visitors. Rock Scores- Connor McCreesh 0-4, Eamon Ward 0-2, Tommy Bloomer 0-1, Aidan McGarrity 0-1, Colm McWilliams 0-1, Ciaran Gourley 0-1. Augher Scores- Raymond McElroy 0-4, Jamie Donnelly 0-4, Sean Hackett 1-1, Adian McElroy 0-3, Darragh Donnelly 0-1

Loughmacrory 0-5 Moy 1-12

Moy continued their rich vein of form with a comprehensive ten point victory on their travels to Loughmacrory.

Eunan Denney and Enda Ward exchanged early points before Anthony Rafferty and again Ward for the Host’s exchanged scores to leave it 2-2 at the end of the first quarter. Moy controlled the remaining fifteen minutes of the half with points from Ryan Mellon, Colm Cavanagh, Sean Cavanagh and Ryan O’Neill to open up a six point lead at the short whistle.

Within fifteen minutes of the restart the Moy had secured all two points as they blitzed their opponents for 1-4. Sean Cavanagh, Niall Conlon and a brace from Peter Mallon set them on their way before Ryan O’Neill scored a 47th minute goal to open up a thirteen point lead.

For the second week in a row the Moy replaced the Cavanagh brothers in the last ten minutes, with Loughmacrory hitting three consolation points from Enda and Ronan Ward. Loughmacrory scores- Enda Ward 0-3, Ronan Ward 0-2. Moy Scores- Ryan O’Neill 1-1, Eunan Denney 0-2, Sean Cavanagh 0-2, Colm Cavanagh 0-2, Peter Mallon 0-2, Niall Conlon 0-1, Ryan Mellon 0-1, Anthony Rafferty 0-1

Eskra 0-13 Aghyaran 1-5

Eskra built on their draw last week as they picked up their first win of the year as they had five points to spare over visiting Aghyaran. Niall Marlow opened the scoring with an impressive point before Peter Hughes scored the first of his eight points on the second minute.

Paddy Devenney and Jude Hands replied for the visitors with Hughes then tagging on two frees. Adian Connolly had an Aghyaran point with Hughes then hitting another free to leave it 0-6 to 0-3 at half time. Ryan Gartland opened the second half scoring with a point in the first minute with Jude Hand’s again responding. Hughes scored another free before the visitors were handed a lifeline when Roger Leonard struck for a 15th minute goal to leave it all square.

Eskra to their credit stuck to their game plan and after two frees from Hughes, Paul Marlow opened their lead to three again with a fine point on the 24th minute.

Hughes and Sean Hackett closed out their side’s first victory before Ronan McNamee had the games last score for Aghyaran.

Eskra scores- Peter Hughes 0-8, Niall Marlow 0-1, Paul Marlow 0-1, Ryan Gartland 0-1, Shane Hackett 0-1, Joe McCarrol 0-1. Aghyaran Scores- Roger Leonard 1-0, Jude Hand’s 0-2, Adian Connoly 0-1, Ronan McNamee 0-1, Paddy Devenney 0-1.

Pomeroy 1-15 Clan Na Gael 1-7

Pomeroy had eight points to spare at home to Clan Na Gael on Sunday afternoon as they picked up another two points.

The Plunkett’s had opened up a nine point lead by the 11th minute as they hit 1-6 without reply. Brendan Burns, Kieran McGeary, Brendan Cunningham, Ollie McCreesh all contributing points, before John Loughran hit the net in the 11th minute. Joe Ball had a brace for the Clans with Justy McCaffery and McGeary again extended the hosts lead to nine.

Patrick Harkin and Ryan McGill pulled points back before the break to leave it 1-8 to 0-4. McGeary opened the second half scoring with Burns McCaffery and Denver Nugent all weighing in with points. Patrick Harkin hit a consolation goal for the visitors before McGeary finished of the afternoon with his fifth of the afternoon.

Pomeroy Scores- Kieran McGeary 0-5, John Loughran 1-1, Brendan Burns 0-3, Ollie McCreesh 0-2, Justy McCaffery 0-2, Denver Nugent 0-1, S Quinn 0-1. Clan Na Gael Scores- Patrick Harkin 1-1, Joe Ball 0-3, Ryan McGill 0-2, D Ball 0-1