Ulster minor champs

Watty Grahams pictured celebrating after they lift the cup.
Watty Grahams pictured celebrating after they lift the cup.

Watty Graham’s, Glen completed an unprecedented three in a row of Ulster Minor championship titles as they swept past Armagh side Silverbridge on New Year’s Day.

The game had been evenly contested for the first half hour, played in horrendous conditions at the St Paul’s Club in Belfast, but Glen asserted in the second half of the contest.

Playing into the wind in the first half, the Maghera side went into the break a point behind as an Eoghan Burns penalty left them trailing, the Glen scores from Conor Convery and Tiarnan Flanagan.

Points from Conor Convery and Cahair McCabe helped them into an early second half advantage and they never looked back.

This lead was stretched to three points shortly after as the Derry champions scored twice from play.

Man of the match Paul Gunning fired over shortly after as the Watty Grahams made their dominance count in the rain and mud.

A Stephen O’Hara free was cancelled out by Silverbridge’s Eoghan Burns as the Armagh men tried to get back in the game. But Glen kicked on once more, securing their third title in as many years.

Glen squad: Ciaran McCloy, Declan McCusker, Conor McDevitt, Tommy Mullan, Cathal Mulholland, Toomas Convery, Jack Doherty, Stephen O’Hara, Conor Glass, Cahair McCabe, Danny Tallon, Paul Gunning, Conal Darragh, Conor Convery, Tiarnan Flanagan, Callum Mullan-Young, Oisin Hegarty, Stephen Glass, Shay Gormley, Mark Doole, James McCloskey, Fergal P McCusker, Michael McKeefrey, Aaron McGrath.

Silverbridge squad: Cormac McKinley, Sean Garvey, Ciaran Mulholland, Peter Reel, Myles McGeeney, Cathal McKeown, Jack McArdle, Jarly Óg Burns, Paddy Reel, Ronan Reel, Aaron Duffy, Aodhán Quinn, Eoghan Burns, Pauraic Keating, Paul McKeever, Joe Rock, James McKeown, Gavin Burns, James Meegan, Seán Óg McShane, Jamie Murphy, Liam McArdle.