Wholesale Tyrone changes in McKenna Cup final

Mickey Harte has once again opted for wholesale changes for Tyrone’s McKenna Cup decider against Cavan at Athletic Grounds this Saturday night, January 24.

Twelve of the line-up that started the semi-final against Armagh drop to the bench, with Killyclogher rookie Conal McCann holding his place in midfield. Sean Cavanagh and Ronan O’Neill also retain their places as Tyrone look to make it a fourth McKenna title on the trot.

McCann and O’Neill both featured for their universities in the group stages, St Mary’s and UUJ respectively.

After a quartet of Clonoe players started against the Orchard county on Wednesday night, only goalkeeper Michael O’Neill remains on the 26 player panel.

Dungannon rookie Padraig McNulty makes his way back into the team to partner McCann at midfield, whilst Niall McKenna will get his first start of the year in a team that closer resembles the side that took on Antrim in the final group game.

The game will be televised live on BBC via the Red Button.

1 Niall Morgan 2 Aidan McCrory 3 Justin McMahon 4 Cathal McCarron 5 Ronan McNabb 6 Joe McMahon 7 Barry Tierney 8 Padraig McNulty 9 Mickey Harte has once again named wholesale changes ahead of Tyrone’s McKenna Cup decider against Cavan at Athletic Grounds this Sunday. Conal McCann 10 Mark Donnelly 11 Ronan O’Neill 12 Plunkett Kane 13 Kyle Coney 14 Sean Cavanagh 15 Niall McKenna Subs: 16 Michael O’Neill 17 Rory Brennan 18 Colm Cavanagh 19 Mattie Donnelly 20 Peter Harte 21 Peter Hughes 22 Tiernan McCann 23 Darren McCurry 24 Shay McGuigan 25 Emmett McKenna 26 Ryan McKenna