Golf: Killymoon elect Catherine Irwin as new Lady Captain

At AGM of Killymoon Ladies’ Branch on Thursday, outgoing captain Diane McIvor thanked everyone for their support during her year in office.

Monday, 2nd March 2015, 12:04 pm
Elish Smith, Norma Scott, Evadne Steele and Catherine Irwin who competed in the Doris & McMahon Ladies Open played at Killymoon Golf Club last Saturday.INMM3514-324

She especially thanked her hard working secretary and ladies committee for their constant work and support, team captains and co-ordinator, and congratulated Tyrone & Fermanagh 4BBB, captained by Carmel and Kathy, who narrowly lost in the final.

She also congratulated the Tyrone & Fermanagh Seniors, captained by Edith, who came third in their competition.

Further thanks went to Finola, Sean and Cyril, Trevor and his bar staff, along with Darren and Stacey.

She then acknowledged Captain Marty’s kind invitation to Ladies to join him at his drive-in last year.

Thanks were expressed to vice-captain Kevin, for overseeing the refurbishment of the clubhouse.

Diane went on to thank Carol Moore for her generous sponsorship of the new Champions Trophy played for in October. A very enjoyable day was had by all who qualified.

The new Lady Captain, Catherine Irwin, addressed the ladies and paid tribute to the outgoing lady captain for a successful year.

Catherine then introduced her vice-captain Linda Lennon, her committee and team captains.

President Alaistair Laird, in the absence of captain Kevin McCabe, addressed the meeting.

He congratulated Catherine on her appointment as and commended Diane on her successful year and wished the ladies all the best.

New ladies committee is:

Lady Captain:

Catherine Irwin


Linda Lennon

Honorary Secretary:

Lesley McGlaughlin

Assistant Secretary:

Pat McNeill


Kathryn Kerr

Immediate Past Captain:

Diane McIvor

Committee: Kathy Shirlow, Avril Marshall, Maura O’Kane

Handicap and Competition Secretary: Carol Moore

Assisted by: Heather

Campbell and Kate O’Neill

Team Captains:

Junior Cup: Kate O’Neill

Intermediate Cup:

Avril Marshall

Minor Cup:

Anne McCrea

Challenge Cup:

Margaret Henderson

Junior Foursomes:

Kate Lennon

Cowdy Cup:

Diane McIvor

Meile 4BBB:

Anne and Maura MacMahon


Carmel Hagan, Kathy Shirlow

T&F Senior Alliance:

Frances McKenna

Team Co-ordinator:

Oonagh McCoy

Dates for Diaries:

Rules Talk (Mrs Catherine McKay):

Thursday 12th March

125 Day:

Friday 17th April

Overnight Outing:

Saturday 25th April

Lady Captain’s Day:

Saturday 13th June

The following Open Days were announced:

Dobbin Cup,McAleer & Rushe

Thursday 14th May

Johanna Rosebowl: Thursday 18th June

Craemill: Thursday 6th August

Doris & MacMahon: Saturday 29th August