Sweep winners at Moyola Park Golf Club

WITH the new season proper fast approaching,weekend Sweep Stablefords are now very much to the fore at Moyola Park Golf Club in Castledawson. When he returned a score of 38pts, fifteen handicapper John McCloy was a worthy winner of one such event.

Tuesday, 13th March 2012, 9:29 am

This was some five ahead of the runner up, Noel McMullan (11) 33pts, with Paul Conway (20) placed third on 32pts, by virtue of a better last 6 holes.

There were 2 optional twos winners, each getting 18 golf balls. Wilbert McKay (24) was successful in a similar event with a score of 39pts. Runner up here was Tony McFlynn (11) 37pts.On this occasion, there were no optional twos awarded.Other Sweep Stableford results are ; 1st, Noel Reid (18) 33pts (on better back nine);2nd,Joe McKenna (16) 33pts ; 3rd,Owen Downey (13) 32pts (on better back nine). 1st, Gerald Loughlin (18) 33pts. 1st,Diarmaid McFlynn (10) 37pts; 2nd,Patrick McLarnon (18) 34pts (on better back nine). 1st, Louis McPeake (9) 36pts; 2nd,Garald Loughlin (18) 34pts (on last 6 holes ); 3rd,Kevin Conway (16) 34pts; 4th,Dermot Kelly (7) 33pts. Here, 10 players get 5 golf balls each for optional twos.

It is pointed out, that Winter handicaps will remain until the Captains Drive In.

The Seniors (over 50s) Open Stablefords continue each Monday and latest winners of these are ; 1st,C.Heavern (15) 40pts (no twos). 1st, W.Smith (15) 40pts; 2 players win 5 golf balls each for optional twos. 1st,L.Hutchinson (24) 38pts; 2nd,M.McSwiggan (19) 37pts; 10 golf balls to D. Lyons as sole twos winner.

Monday continues the Seniors (over 50s) Open Stablefords. The ladies will play in their Spring League competition . This has now commenced and will run until March 20. A few rules to note are; – play a maximum of 8 cards of which best six will count ;play on any day within the five week period;you must submit a minimum of five cards to qualify for a team prize; holes 1 to 8 and the 9th as 2nd, playing off white markers on mens tee box; there will be an individual best player prize.

The various teams in the ladies Spring League are; A - Pat Johnston (capt), Sinead McMeel,Dympna Logue, Louise Kelly and Teresa McKeever; B – Mary McSwiggan (capt),Jackie Evans, Fionnuala Walls, Valerie Lee, and Una Hegarty; C – Graine McLean ( capt), Mairead Diamond, Rosaleen Otterson, Bernadette Slowey, and Marie Kyne; D – Margaret O’Neill (capt),Christine Crockett,Judy Martin,Molly Quinn and Bernie O’Neill; E – Joy Alexander (capt),Mary McGoldrick, Kathleen Craig,Pauline Hutchinson, and Ann O’Neill; F – Kitty McKenna (capt), Geraldine Kelly, Marian Dempsey, Ita McHugh and Eileen KcKeague; G – Claire McKenna (capt),Ann Regan,Ann Kelly,Rita Harkin, and Phil Smith; H – Maureen Duncan (capt), Ann Speedie, Norma Kirkpatrick,Ita Henry and Marie Wilson; I – Sheena Scullion (capt),Margaret Murphy,Marie Leadon,Sally Coyle and Margaret Gates.

Meanwhile, the annual Watterson Cup Foursomes Matchplay competition sees an £8 entry fee per team to be paid prior to teeing off in first match. This event will continue to use high/low draw in order to match up playing partners and there will be a further draw to organise the first round.

If you wish to take part,add your name and handicap on the sheet now provided on the noticeboard. The draw will take place on Wednesday March 21, the competition itself then begins on Wednesday April 4. And, names are now being taken for the “ladies galavant” which is on Saturday April 21, venue being Lough Erne. If anyone is interested, sign the sheet provided while a £50 deposit must be paid by March 28. The trip will include golf, evening meal and overnight stay at the five star Lough Erne Resort.

Also, the ladies branch hope to run a monthly 18 Hole Sweep on Saturdays for a trial basis this year. Tee off is 3pm to 3.15pm and these cards will qualify for Lady Captains Day but not count towards player of the year points. A maximum of 24 places will be available on each day, and in order to retain this slot,at least 12 players are needed. You may go out in eight three balls or six four balls and anyone interested, should sign the sheet posted on the noticeboard.

The 35th annual general meeting of Moyola Park Golf Club, will be held in the clubhouse on Monday March 26 at 7.30pm. This year, there are four vacancies on the Council for a three year term.