HULRING: Champions Slaughtneil stroll past outclassed Lavey

Slaughtneil 6-30, Lavey 0-11

Monday, 15th August 2016, 6:20 pm
Updated Thursday, 25th August 2016, 6:23 pm
Slaughtneils' Cormac O'Doherty was superb as he hit 2-12 against a shell shocked Lavey 15.

Holders Slaughtneil served notice it will take a monumental performance to relieve them of their title after this 37 points thrashing of 10-times champions Lavey.

This was probably Lavey’s poorest ever display in a championship game, overwhelmed by a superbly drilled Slaughtneil side that led 4-19 to 0-5 at half time. That the Emmet’s only outscored Lavey 2-11 to 0-6 in the second period was mostly due to some sloppy finishing and a marginally more determined Lavey.

Showing wonderful stick-work, allied to a succession of glorious points from the mercurial Cormac O’Doherty, Brendan Rogers, Mark McGuigan, Conor McAllister and Mark McGuigan, Slaughtneil had this game over by half-time.

Slaughtneil: Oisin O’Doherty; Rory McCartney, Sean Cassidy, Paul McNeill; Eanna Cassidy, Karl McKaigue (0-1), Shane McGuigan (0-1); Meehaul McGrath (1-0), Conor McAllister (0-2); Mark McGuigan (0-2), Cormac O’Doherty (2-12, 6f, 1 sixty-five), Cormac McKenna (2-4, 1f); Brendan Rogers (0-4), Sé McGuigan (1-2), Chrissy McKaigue. (Subs) Peadar Kearney for B Rogers 43 mins; Gareth O’Kane (0-2, 1f) for K McKaigue 43 mins; Michael Kearney for C McKaigue 44 mins; Sean Cassidy for C O’Doherty 47 mins; Brian Óg Corbett for P McNeill 50 mins

Lavey: Mickey Collins; Colm Murphy (0-1), Shane Lagan, Colm Dillon; Shane McGill, Dermot O’Neill, Kevin Toner; Ben Dodds, Cillian McGurk; Paddy Henry (0-8, 8f), Liam Murphy, Chris Henry; Brendan Laverty (0-2), Conor McMullan, Ryan Farren. (Subs) Conor McGurk for C Henry 35 mins; Aidan Toner for K Toner 55 mins; Dara McPeake for C McMullan 55 mins.