Athletics: Meharg takes first place Brackareilly 5 mile road race

Acorns AC team at Brackareilly 5 mile race. Included are Aaron Meharg (left) who came first in the race and Sam Linton (third from right) who came third
Acorns AC team at Brackareilly 5 mile race. Included are Aaron Meharg (left) who came first in the race and Sam Linton (third from right) who came third

On a warm Wednesday evening several of the Acorns members took to the country lanes on the outskirts of Maghera for the annual Brackareilly 5 mile road race.

Aaron Meharg was in top form and from the start built up a commanding lead of over a minute on Stephen Walker (North Belfast), and took 1st place in 28 minutes.

Sam Linton, who is going from strength to strength, held his own in the humid conditions to pick up the 3rd place overall, crossing the line in just under 32 minutes.

Eugene McAuley, Oli (Warrior) Murphy and Richard Smith had a close fought battle to finish in just under 35 minutes. Stephen Kerr, Niall Hassan, Brian McKinless and Lynn Shiels all put in solid performances on the night.

Thanks to the local community centre for their post-race hospitality.

Brackareilly 5 Mile results–

Aaron Meharg- 28.22

Sam Linton- 31.52

Eugene McAuley- 34.04

Oli Murphy- 34.19

Richard Smith- 34.46

Stephen Kerr- 35.04

Niall Hassan- 36.11

Brian McKinless- 42.40

Lynn Shiels- 47.19

Milk Run 5 Mile (Ballymoney)– On Friday evening 15 members of the Acorns team set of on the bus to Ballymoney for the Springwell Runners organised 5 mile Milk Run.

The Club had just taken delivery of its new kit, and this was a great opportunity to get everyone lined out in the proper club colours.

Weather conditions were excellent on Friday evening, although not ideal for running due to the humidity, however this did not deter the crew as they set of at 7.30pm around the 5 mile course.

The male runners Darrell McKee, Diarmuid O’Kane and Bliadhan Glass put in a solid shift to finish the race in under 30 minutes.

Oli Murphy and Roger McLean had a tough battle together and a near photo finish crossing the line in 33 minutes.

Irwin Speirs made a return to racing with an excellent time of 36:33 taking the over 60 veterans prize along the way.

The Acorns ladies were also in fine form, Mary Devlin was first of the team to cross the line in 40 minutes, with Frances Bell, Tanya McElhatton and Diane Carey not far behind with a finish time of 43 minutes.

Wendy Wensley and Sandra Smith had an excellent race and both finished the race in under 47 minutes.

Thanks again to Springwell Runners for their post-race hospitality. Results:-

Darrell McKee- 28:35

Bliadhan Glass- 29:53

Diarmuid O’Kane- 29:54

Martin Loughran- 30:22

Alan Shaw- 32:26

Oli Murphy- 33:36

Roger McLean- 33:39

Irwin Speirs- 36:33

Trevor Dallas- 40:57

Mary Devlin- 40:48

Frances Bell- 43:23

Tanya McElhatton- 43:35

Diane Carey- 43:58

Wendy Wensley- 44:57

Sandra Smith- 47:00

Parkrun results:- Cookstown- Irwin Speirs 22.30; Jennifer Leacock 28.39; Marina Abbott 30.31.

Race Calendar:- Wednesday 30th July- Crawfordsburn 5k Trail Race at 7.15pm; Downpatrick 10k at 7.30pm.; Friday 1st July – Stanley Raid Memorial 5 mile, Loughry at 7.30pm; Saturday 2nd August – Tandragee 10k at 10am; Saval 10k at 12 noon.

On Tuesday 5th August the club is planning a group training session at Portstewart. If you are free to attend please contact Francis Purvis.

Training takes place in Magherafelt at Meadow Bank Sports Arena running track on a Monday at 7pm, and a Wednesday at 7.30pm.

Cookstown training takes place at MUSA on Tuesday’s and Thursday’s at 6.30pm.

We welcome ALL newcomers, please speak to the following people, who will help you with your enquiries:- Cookstown contact: Glenn Donnelly and Trevor Dallas; Magherafelt contact- Francis Purvis.