East Tyrone cyclists continue winning streak

EAST Tyrone Cycling Club made it three weekends in a row winning open races at the Mid Ulster Grand Prix on Sunday.

The event, hosted by the Harps CC, was held just outside Cookstown so no doubt that local knowledge of the roads used was an advantage to the East Tyrone contingent that took part.

Jake Gray got the day off to a great start by winning the Under 14 race adding to his impressive season tally. He really is proving to be the rider to beat in his age group throughout the province this season.

One of the clubs youngest members, James Glasgow, also had a good race placing 5th in the Under 12 event.

There was more success to come for East Tyrone CC. Club treasurer Brian McComb rode a strong Race in the “B” race getting into the successful break away and worked well with another six riders to build up a gap over the chasing bunch. At the finish line it was McComb who took the sprint for victory just edging out his fellow breakaway companions much to the delight of the crowd. This was a truly inspiring and determined ride by McComb on a very windy day when most cyclist would have preferred to sit in the much more sheltered bunch and wait until the finish before making a move. McComb was helped by the good teamwork by East Tyrone CC with the other East Tyrone riders in the race not helping the bunch to chase the breakaway, confident in McComb’s ability to get the result.

Last Thursday saw the opening round of the Burrows Engineering Road Race League. The first round took place over three laps of the Springhill-Tamlaght-Loup circuit.

It was a handicapped race with three groups setting off. The scratch group caught the first two groups, which had already merged, on the final lap to set up an exciting finish. At the finish it was a close affair with Gary Jeffers just edging out defending champion Stevie Hutchinson by a wheel length.


Position Name Club

1 Gary Jeffers ETCC

2 Stevie Hutchinson ETCC

3 JJ Conway Harps

4 Dolan Dunlop Harps

5 Owen Campbell Island Wheelers

6 Robert Stewart ETCC

7 Jason Glasgow ETCC

8 Stevie Bruce ETCC

9 Paul Quinn Island Wheelers

10 Darren Hughes Harps

Racing continues tonight (Thursday) with the third round of the Coopers Motorcycles Time Trial League. The third round is a 10 mile circuit TT held on the Cement works / Rock circuit. Sign on is in the car park opposite the Cement Works with racing starting at 7.30pm sharp.

Club sponsor Eamon J Bradley is holding a charity cycle on Sunday 6th May. It is a 40 mile route starting in Magilligan with sign on from Bob’s Bistro at 8.30am

Can club members please note that the May monthly meeting will take place on Monday 13th May in Cookstown Leisure Centre at 8pm.