Foley and Heverin take top prizes in Ernie Magwood Super 6 time trial

Ernie Magwood Super 6
Ernie Magwood Super 6

The Ernie Magwood Super 6 Time Trial league prize night took place at the Bluebells Restaurant, Cookstown, courtesy of league sponsor Geoffrey Seffen.

All the prizewinners, officials and volunteers involved, attended the evening along with representatives of the Magwood family, in memory of Cookstown cyclist Ernie Magwood. The league is co-run by members of the Island Wheelers and East Tyrone CC.

Following a delicious meal, the Men’s category main prize was awarded for the second year running to Lurgan competitor John Heverin, representing Clann Eireann. Draperstown’s Cathal Doyle of Carn Wheelers finished in 2nd place, ahead of Desi Foley, Phoenix

The Ladies category was won by former international representative Heather Foley (nee Wilson) of Maryland, from the Island Wheelers own Sheena O’Neill.

In the Veterans section Brendan McCourt, Northern Dave Kane lifted the main prize from league organiser James McLaughlin, Island Wheelers.

The organisers wish to thank everyone for their support throughout the year, with special thanks to Universal Products, Richard Davidson Motors and the Bluebells Restaurant.

East Tyrone Cycling Club will hold its Annual General Meeting on Monday 3rd December in Bluebells Restaurant, 3A Killycolp Road, at 8pm. All club members are invited to attend.

This is now the time for members to renew their licences for the 2013 season and full details can be found on the club’s website. For any members with no access to the internet, they can bring the appropriate fee along to the AGM and apply for their 2013 licence there.