Gray and Jeffers take plaudits at East Tyrone award night

East Tyrone Cycling Club held its 65th annual Dinner Dance and Prize Distribution on Friday November 2 with a good attendance of over 130 people including members, their friends and families and guests.

The principal prize winners on the night were Jake Gray and Gary Jeffers.

School boy Jake Gray was the dominate force throughout the country in U14 competition this season. He won the U14 Northern Ireland championships, Ulster championships and Irish championships to name but a few of his achievements this year.

Gary Jeffers dominated the East Tyrone club racing scene by winning the Coopers Motorcycles Time Trial League, the Burrows Engineering Road Race League, the BAR competition, the Ernie Magwood Memorial trophy and also performed brilliantly in open competition achieving some excellent results during the course of the season.

Other prize winners on the night included Stephen Hutchinson who won the Clubs Hill Climb Trophy, and underage riders Ellie and Neil Kelso who won the Norman Devlin and Samuel Devlin trophies.

The Club Person of the Year award went to club treasurer Brian McComb who, among other work behind the scenes, was the main organiser of this years Ulster Youth Championships which were promoted by East Tyrone CC.

There was also a special award of recognition on the night presented to club Chairman Rodney Davidson who celebrates his Golden Jubilee. This award was not only to mark this special occasion but also a small gesture of thanks for the huge amount of time and effort Rodney has put into East Tyrone Cycling Club over the past 50 years.