Gray wins NI Championship

EAST Tyrone Cycling Club’s Jake Gray became Under 14 Northern Ireland champion on Sunday when he won the North Down Grand Prix at Donaghadee.

Gray put on a brilliant display to win the event on his own minutes ahead of the rest. This result comes as no surprise to anyone who has followed Jake’s progress this season as he has won races across the country.

This result along with his other performance this season will make him one of the favourites in his age group for the 2012 Ulster Youth Championship that is being promoted by East Tyrone on Sunday 19th August.

East Tyrone under 16 member and Cookstown High School pupil Harry McComb has just returned from three days of intense racing at the UK School games held in London. He was part of a four man N.Ireland team which represented their clubs, schools and Towns with credit placing an impressive fourth overall in the Street Hill Racing section.

This was no small achievement when you consider they were up against the very best youth cyclists in the United Kingdom who are all on British Cycling progressive talent programs.

This event was part of the London prepares, and was a chance for the organisers of the Olympic games to fine tune their skills.

All the cyclists were treated like professionals during their time in London.

The highlight of the trip was racing on the newly built Olympic Velodrome in front of 2000 screaming fans. These lucky lads are probably the first from N.Ireland to ride on the Velodrome. This was a great experience and has given them an incite into how international events work .

Stevie Hutchinson got another victory for ETCC when he won Bann Valley’s club race last Tuesday evening.

The second round of the Ernie Magwood Super Six Time Trial League took place last Thursday evening. John Heverin of Clann Eireann won the event by recording a lightning fast sub 20 minute time.


John Heverin CECC 19:55

Matthew Doyle Foyle 20:24

Cathal Doyle Carn 20:57

Leo McAllister CRC Vitus 21:00

Connor McAteer BVRC 21:23

Desi Foley Phoenix 21:24

Richard Davidson IWCC 21:37

Stephen McWilliams Phoenix 21:50

Paul Wilkinson WDW 21:52

Brendan McCourt Northern 21:59


David Heagney ETCC 22:24

Mervyn Seffen ETCC 25:51

After four rounds of the Cooper Motorcycles Time Trial League the top of the League is as follows:

1. Gary Jeffers 95

2. Robert Stewart 69

3. John McGlaughlin 50

4. Stevie Hutchinson 32

5. David Heagney 30

5. Ivor Wilkinson 30

The second round of the Burrows Engineering Road Race League will take place this Thursday evening (24th May) at Sherrygroom with senior racing starting at 7.30pm. There will be underage racing before the senior event. Sign on as at the usual location, about 150 yards from the Sherrigrim Rd Lurgy Rd junction.