Henry new Moyola angling chairman

AT the annual general meeting of Moyola Angling Association, Sean Henry has been unanimously elected to serve as the new chairman.

Held at Mill Meadow in Castledawson, the meeting was well attended by members to discuss matters arising and elect office bearers for the year ahead.

On the night, Philip Maguire stood down from the top position after four very successful years at the helm. He handed over the reigns to Sean who has been a loyal member of Moyola for over 30 years.

The outgoing chairman thanked the committee for the past four years work,stating that the club had a hard working body of members, who all have one thing in common.

That is the protection of angling and conservation along the Moyola River.

He went on to say that he hoped the committee would strive as hard for the new chairman and paid tribute to Jack Chapman, membership officer for the past four years, and who has also stood down from that position.Outgoing secretary,Carrie Loane, was also thanked for all her hard work.

Treasurer Robert Hueston gave a detailed report on the finance of the club while competition secretary,Tommy McGrath, gave a favourable account of past events and outings when over £1,150 was also raised for charities.

At this gathering, mandatory catch and release has been passed for all salmon caught in the 2013 season while all dollaghan caught in the month of October, must also be returned alive to the river. Sean Henry closed the annual meeting by thanking the outgoing chairman Philip Maguire for his dedicated service over the last four years.

The office bearers elected were - chairman, Sean Henry; vice chairman, Philip Maguire;honorary treasaurer, Robert Hueston;assistant treasurer, Edith Lees; honorary secretary, Seamus Donnelly; secretary, Desmond Diamond; competitions secretary, Tommy McGrath; assistant competitions secretary, Willie Darragh; membership officer, Brian Bigmore; president, Patsy McCann.

Committee members for 2013 – Mervyn Finlay, Maurice Dorrity, Kenny McCracken, Jack Chapman, Norman Doherty, Michael Brunton, Brendan McNicholl, John McCombe, Robert Kerr, Adrain McKay, Stanley Aspinall,Peter O’Neill, Kenny Donnelly, Tom Mullan, Chris Gilmore, Matthew Devlin, Ruth Arrell, Joey O’Neill, Tom Maguire, Stephan Franklin, Chris Franklin, Wesley McClenaghan, Andy Glendinning, Paul Fulton, Barry McMullan, and John McKay.

The Moyola club reminds all that the new membership cards will be issued in mid-February.