Heverin sets new course record

JOHN Heverin (Clann Eireann) broke his own ten mile course record in last weeks sixth round of the Cooper Motorcycles Time Trial League on the Omagh Road with a time of 20.26.

Robert Stewart recorded a personal best time in the Ernie Magwood Memorial 10 and improved even further last week by tightening his grip on the Overall League title.

Results in Detail (East Tyrone Unless Stated)

1) John Heverin (Clann Eireann) 20.26

2) R Stewart 21.20

3) G Jeffers 21.47

4) S Hutchinson 21.52

5) N Wilson 22.00

Equal D Heagney 22.00

7) B Doyle (Harps) 22.16

8) P Quinn (Island WHS) 22.28

9) S Stewart (Spires) 22.48

10) I Wilkinson 22.50

11) B McComb 22.54

12) G Seffen 23.16

Selected Others A Somerville 23.20, J McGlaughlin 23.53, D Corrigan 24.00, J Donnelly 24.10, J Glasgow 24.18, G Leonard 24.44, M Steele 24.47, H McComb (U16) 25.33, L Mitchell 25.49, R Bruce 26.42, C Lynch (U16) 26.45, A Sands 27.03, Dawn Gregg 28.48

The penultimate round of the Burrows Engineering Road Race League will be held on the Cement Works Circuit this Thursday August 4 starting at 7:30pm. There will also be a shorter event for youth and novice competitors.

East Tyrone Riders Win Two Stages and Points Title at Omagh

Gavin Sterling from the East Tyrone club won the overall sprint points competition .Gary Jeffers won the opening two stages in last weekends Omagh three day stage race.

Jeffers who won this race last year had the Yellow Jersey going into Sundays Time Trial but narrowly lost out to Glen Warnock (Omagh WHS) by seven seconds. Robert Stewart placed third on this stage. Despite constant attacks by Jeffers on the final show down to the top of Synofin Mountain, the Omagh rider held on to take the title.

Gavin Sterling road consistently throughout and with strong lead out men Ivor Wilkinson and Melvin Steele, was able to win the three intermediate sprints on the final stage and secure the blue jersey as overall points winner.

The East Tyrone club had ten riders taking part in three teams and all road well in a hard race which had eighty starters. Robert Stewart was their highest placed finisher in fourth overall. Gary Jeffers two stage wins definitely puts him down as an emerging top road-man sprinter.

The full East Tyrone squad was Gavin Sterling, Alan Somerville, Alan Gilkinson, Johnathan Donnelly, John McGlaughlin, Ivor Wilkinson, Melvin Steele, Geoffrey Seffen, Robert Stewart and Gary Jeffers. The team attendants were Clive Lindsay and Oliver Hunter. The East Tyrone riders would like to thank all club members for their support out on the road and club sponsors McGlaughlins Bakery, Cookstown for the use of a support veichle.