Martin Craig wins Moyola stableford

Glorious sunshine throughout saw Open Week competitions at Moyola Park Golf Club attract large entries.

First event was the HM Electrics Stableford and with 40pts, it brought a win for 15 handicapper Martin Craig. Second was Kevin Carmichael (9) 39BBN.

Third Colin Reid (8) 39; best gross from Damian McCusker (0) with 71.

Handicap category winners: 0-9 Stephen McFadden (9) 39, 2nd David Patton (4) 38, 10-17 Tony McGuckin (13) 39, 2nd Seamus Graffin (15) 38, 18 plus Sam McKee (20) 38, 2nd Pat O’Neill (22). Seniors prize – Cecil Watters (13) 35.

Stableford,sponsored by Colin Francis Motors: 1st, Joe McCloskey (10) 41pts, 2nd Richard Michael (25) 40BBN, 3rd David Simpson (5) 40.

Handicap category 0-9 Rory Gribbin (9) 37 ; 2nd Luke Lennox (-2) 35, 10-13 Paul McMillen (12) 39, 2nd Liam Strathern (13) 38, 14-17 Seamus Graffin (15) 38BBN, 2nd Roy Montgomery (15) 38, 18 plus Liam G.O’Neill (21) 39, 2nd Brendan McKay (20) 37.

And, the Seniors Open Stableford: 1st Sean Tennyson (28) 40pts, 2nd Patsy Bradley (22) 39BBN, 3rd Alec Leacock (22) 39. Gross Kevin Toner (6) 75. Handicap category: 0-9 John Joe Rocks (6) 37, 10-1 Mairead Diamond (13) 35, 18 plus Arnold Oliphant (26) 38.

Tobermore Concrete

Winner of Tobermore Concrete Stableford was Odhran McGoldrick (11) 43pts. Gross Randal Evans (0) 72.

A Sunday Sweep brought success for Mark Lynch (7) with 40pts.

And, the latest Thursday 9 Hole Stableford was won by Noel McGurk (22) 21, with Dean Crawford (2) runner up on 19.

Downs Syndrome

The Downs Syndrome charity competition, sponsored by the Drumm family, has been won by Kitty McKenna, 35pts.

Second went to Maire Leadon, 34pts.This result leaves the player of the year table as – Marie Wilson,32pts; Ciara Boyle,31pts; Jacqueline Evans,27pts; Bridget Bradley, 21pts; Fionnuala Walls, 19pts; L.Averill, 15pts; Anne O’Neill, 14pts; Fiona Glass, 13pts; Kitty McKenna,12pts; Mary McGoldrick, 11pts; Eileen McKeague, 9pts; A.Drumm, 8pts; Marion Overend, 7pts; Toni O’Kane, Nuala Henry, Sinead McMeel, Monica Collins, Claire McKenna, Maire Leadon and Una Hegarty, 6pts; Carol Collier, Geraldine Kelly, Christine Crockett and Bernadette Slowey, 5pts; Pat Johnston and Pauline Hutchinson, 4pts; Ita McHugh, Mairead Diamond, Marie Kyne, M.O’Neill and S.Coyle,3pts; Ann Kelly, Grainne McLean and M.Murphy, 2pts; Bernie O’Neill,1pt.

The draw for the next round of the Watterson Cup is - Bernie O’Neill and Grainne McLean v Geraldine Kelly and Claire McKenna; Ann Kelly and Margaret O’Neill v Mary O’Kane and Maire Leadon.

These matches must be played by Wednesday, 17th July.

A Nine Hole Competition will be held each Thursday until 5th September.

This will be non-qualifying for male members and you can play all day on Thursday, except when there is an open event.

Cards should be purchased from the pro shop at £2 each and must be entered into the computer.

This Saturday brings the July Monthly Medal.A Stroke competition, it also counts towards the golfer of the year.

Sunday sees a Sweep Stableford, Monday the Seniors (over 50s) Open Stableford, while members should note that on Tuesday and Thursday of next week, the GUI Junior Foursomes will be held at the Moyola course.

This means there are limited tee times.

The ladies will compete in their Glenview Gift Centre Shanemullagh Shield next Wednesday, 24th July.

Club Lotto draw numbers for Sunday, 7th July – 11,13,16 and 18.The £25 winners were Elieen McKeague and Alec Leacock.Next draw Sunday, 21st July.