McPeake takes victory at Brackareilly

CHRISTOPHER McPeake was a clear winner when he lead from Start to Finish in the annual Brackareilly 5 mile road race in a time of 27-21 he was followed home by Ballymena pair Kevin O’Boyle in 28-58 & Emmet McAllister 31-01 then in 4th place was Conan Glass U/a 31-50 with Sperrin’s Conor Henry next on his way back from injury finished in a time of 31-55 just behind him was Jim Breen Springwell 31-59, next Sperrin athlete to finish was Gerard McNally in 34-29 with our only female athlete Bernadette McNally finishing in 46-17.

Great runs at Dervock

ON Saturday, 25 Sperrin Harriers made the trip to Dervock for the Kennedy Kane McArthur festival of running which included a 10k, half Marathon and the main event of the day the Marathon, the marathon was been organised by the Springwell running club in honour of Dervock born athlete Kennedy Kane McArthur who 100 year ago had won the Gold Medal in the Marathon for South Africa at the Stockholm Olympics in 1912.

The 10k was the first race to start at 10-45 and we had 2 ladies running in the race Deirdre Bradley & Maureen Mallon ran great races to finish in times of Deirdre 59-02, Maureen 62-11.

Also by this time another Olympic gold winner Dame Mary Peters had started the main events the Half & Full Marathons. We had 14 athletes competing in the half and at 8 mile the first of them to show was Aidan O’Hagan with Sean O’Gara next then Alvin Taylor,Darren Church, Martin Loughran all running close together,also at this time the some of the Marathon runners were coming through the 8 mile mark and the leading Harrier was Colly Gallagher with Mel Hughes not far behind then Karen Alexander who was well in front in the ladies section of the marathon, and in a time of 1-24-30 Aidan O’Hagan was the first Sperrin Harrier to cross the line in the Half Marathon with Sean O’Gara next in 1-29-12, Darren Church 1-31-54, Alvin Taylor 1-32-05, Martin Loughran 1-32-15, Trevor Dallas 1-34-00, Mark Reid 1-35-30, Darren Warnock 1-42-33, Barry O’Neill 1-44-16,Jason O’Neill 1-50-10, Russell Bell 1-54-13, Niall Gallagher 1-57-18, Hannha Su 2-06-24.Frances CW 2-07-00

As the marathon athletes started to cross the line we Did’t have long to wait for the first Harrier and also winning the Ladies marathon Karen Alexander in a great time of 3-14-45,next to finish and leading the change for the male Harriers team was Colly Gallagher in a time of 3-25-46, next was Connor Martin in a time of 3-42-39 and not to be undone was Connor’s dad Paul in 3-48-58, then Jeremy Dobson 3-55-06, Grerory Cahoon 4-02-57, Oliver Murphy 4-17-33, Peter McKenna 4-23-00 Well done everyone great running on a very tough course

Well done to Adele McNally and Karen McElroy who were competing on the road in the Mournes in the ladies only race which started at Leitrim Lodge and finished in Kilbroney Park and was over a distance of 10k, Both our ladies had runs and finished together in a time of 55mins well done ladies.