Stuart Smyth - Cookstown Men's 1st XI Player of the Year, Men's Top Scorer and Supporters Player of the Year

Cookstown Hockey Club’s Virtual Annual Awards

Cookstown Hockey Club held their annual awards night - virtually!

Wednesday, 10th June 2020, 5:00 pm

Club Captain Godfrey Irwin opened the event by speaking about the season past and his hopes for the year to come.

The guests were then treated to the main event - the awards.

Alan Carson put together a video presentation packed full of celebrity guests and famous faces from around the world of sport to celebrate those who have excelled for Cookstown H.C. both on and off the pitch over the past year.

Stu Smyth was the big winner, taking home the Men’s First XI Player of the Year, Men’s Top Scorer and Supporters’ Player of the Season gongs.

Leanne Johnston was a worthy recipient of the Ladies Player of the Year award with Rachel Stewart earning the Ladies’ Top Scorer trophy.

Greg Allen joined his father Les and brother Stevie on the Men’s Second XI trophy, becoming the first father and siblings combo to win the award.

Paul Johnston was voted in as Men’s Third XI Player of the Season for the second time in three years with the Fourth XI trophy going to speedster Robert Turkington.

Rebecca Hamilton and Max Anderson won the Schoolgirl and Schoolboy Players of the Season awards.

Mark Wilson led Cookstown II to a domestic double in his first season as skipper and was duly awarded the Captain of the Year trophy.

Club PRO Gavin Butler was presented with the Club Person of the Year award by GB international David Ames.

The event ended with an ‘Alternative Awards’ which recognised the impact of those in less recognised roles (but still ones that make the club tick) such as Top Dog, Players’ Supporter of the Year, and Photographer of the Season.

Club President, Carole Hodgett, finished the evening with a heartfelt address, recognising the work of our members, past and present, who work within the NHS.

Thank you to everyone who took part - all the presenters, speakers, guests, and everyone who generously donated to our NHS cause - and well done to all the winners!

Page 2 of 3