SCHOOLS’ RUGBY: Danske Bank Schools’ Cup Second Round draw made

The refurbished Danske Bank Ulster Schools' Cup
The refurbished Danske Bank Ulster Schools' Cup

The draw for the second round of this season’s Danske Bank Ulster Schools’ Cup has been made.

The seven first round winners were joined by nine schools in the second tier seeding and the ties will be played on Saturday, January 23.

The draw was made by Wendy Murphy, representing Danske Bank and Trevor Robinson, Principal of Lurgan College.

Second round draw:

Belfast Royal Academy v Grosvenor GS

Portadown v Friends’ School

Bangor GS v Limavady GS

Regent House v Portora Royal School

Foyle College v Antrim GS

Dalriada School v Omagh Academy

Royal School Armagh v Rainey Endowed

Ballyclare HS v Royal School Dungannon

The winners of the second round fixtures will be joined in round three by the remaining eight top seeded schools: Ballymena Academy, Campbell College, Coleraine GS, Down HS, Methodist College, Royal Belfast Academical Institution, Sullivan Upper and Wallace HS.

First round results:

Larne GS 3-10 Royal School Armagh

Lurgan College 3-7 Portadown College

Cambridge House 13-27 Limavady GS (played on Friday evening)

Wellington College 3-22 Friends’ School

Royal School Dungannon 45-10 Carrickfergus GS

Banbridge Academy 15-16 Antrim GS

Belfast HS 7-21 Foyle College

Meanwhile, the seven lsoing teams in the first round were joined by Strabane Academy, who lost in the preliminary round to Carrickfergus GS, for the Trophy quarter-final draw.

Trophy quarter final draw:

Cambridge House v Strabane Academy

Carrickfergus GS v Larne GS

Wellington College v Banbridge Academy

Belfast HS v Lurgan College