Snooker: Champions out ahead of the last eight

Dermot Loughran and Patrick Wallace INTT4513-622OC
Dermot Loughran and Patrick Wallace INTT4513-622OC

The rather early start this year seems to have upset the traditional seats of power in the East Tyrone Snooker League doubles championship, perhaps providing a refreshing element, with one of the surprising casualties in the opening rounds being multi winners Dermot Loughran and Patrick Wallace.

The defending championship were shown the exit door by Gervins duo Darren Gribben and Anthony McGuckin, who ere themselves then beaten by Mark Nugent and John Maguire from the Max Club.

Ciaran Kelly and Seamus Nixon, another fancied Coalisland pairing, were defeated by Terry Dunlop and Rory Mallon, who then made their departure via a loss to Danny McVeigh and Jerome McVeigh.

Owen McKee and Colm Kelly went under to McKees Club newbies Brendan McLarnon and Damien McBride, who subsequently fell at the hands of Conor Gillespie and Kieran Corr of McVeighs.

And Joe Loughran and tournament sponsor Feargal Keenan, Mitchells, took a big scalp in Pot Black’s Peter Reilly and Mickey Quinn,

The bottom line is that the quarter-finals unusually have no representatives from either Pot Black or Gervins. Instead there are three from the Mitchells club, two each from Max and McVeighs and one from McKees.

Kildress Plumbing Supplies Quarter-final draw: Joe Loughran-Feargal Keenan v Conor Gillespie-Kieran Corr, Jonny McCurry-Kevin Kelly v Gary McNeill-Ryan Starkey, John O’Reilly-Francie Mallon v Oliver O’Neill-John Hagan, Danny McVeigh-Jerome McVeigh v Mark Nugent-John Maguire. These matches must be played before or on Tuesday January 12, 8pm.