Tyrone win U21 Ulster hurling title

Damien Casey, Eoghain Ruadh and Tyrone
Damien Casey, Eoghain Ruadh and Tyrone

TYRONE claimed the Ulster U21 Shield after an inspired first half display from captain Damien Casey proved too much for Donegal at Celtic Park.

Tyrone, fielding five senior panellists, bossed the game from the start with captain Cassidy punishing every mistake Donegal made.

The Eoghan Ruadh player had scored five inside the opening 10 minutes on his way to a perfect nine points from nine first half shots.

And that magnificent personal tally included one huge free of almost 100 yards and two from play.

Donegal finally got off the mark on 12 minutes through Chris Bonnar.

But their policy of pushing for goals was consistently playing into Tyrone hands and the O’Neill county men were well worth their 0-11 to 0-4 half-time advantage.

Donegal desperately needed to regroup and, in fairness to them, they certainly were a vastly imrpoved outfit second half as points from Justin Browne, Conor McCarmack and Chris Bonnar brought it back to 0-12 against 0-7.

However, once the very impressive Casey had found his range again in the second half to finish with a tremendous solo haul of 0-11.

From this point on it was fairly obvious that there was only ever going to be be one winner at the Derry city venue - and it wasn’t the men from the hills of Donegal.

Two late goals from the cross-border county men’s corner-forward Colm Kelly - the second three minutes into injury time - made the final score closer than it should have been but it was Tyrone’s night on Wednesday.

Donegal: Dyman Lafferty; Fintan Culhane, Padraig Doherty, Mark Callaghan; Christopher McDermott, Shane Gallen, Colm Flood; Justin Browne (0-4, 4f), Conor Parke; Ronan 
McDermott, Conor McVeigh, Christopher McVeigh, 
Christopher Bonnar (0-2); Bernard Lafferty, Conor 
Gallen, Colm Kelly (2-1). (Subs) Conor McCormack 
(0-1) for B Lafferty 41mins.

Tyrone:Conor McElhatton, Brendan Begley, Conor 
McNally, Mark McCrory; Dermot Begley, Tiarnan 
Morgan, Liam Armstrong; Gerard Gilmore, Damien 
Casey (0-11, 6f, 3 sixty-fives); Eamon Duffin, Kiefer 
Morgan (0-1), Ciaran 
McCrudden (0-1); Matthew Mulgrew, Mark Mullan (0-1), Brian McGurk (0-2). (Subs) Michael Maneely for 
C McCrudden, 43 mins; 
Caolan Devlin for M 
Mulgrew, 54mins.

Referee: Noel Mullaney,